Expolanka defeat Singer with a comprehensive win

MCA B Division 50-Over Tournament 2019


An interesting fixture between Expolanka and Singer Sri Lanka was worked off down Park Road today with Expolanka comprehensively beating Singer in the MCA B Division Tournament.

After winning a crucial toss Expolanka skipper Hashan Hewanayaka put Singer Sri Lanka to bat first. Singer were off to a steady start losing just two wickets in the first eleven overs with the score at 47. Sasith Lakshan together with Previn Speering gave the Singer batsmen a tough time in the middle restricting Singer to 203 in the 49th over. Devin Pathmathan spearheaded the Singer batting with an important 45 whilst Raveen Yasas’s 43 came in handy. In the bowling department Sasith Lakshan picked up 3 wickets for 25 runs as Speering’s supportive role assisted with 2 wickets for 26 runs.

Read more: https://www.thepapare.com/commercial-credit-lb-finance-make-quarters/

Chasing a target of 204, Expolanka were off to flashy start accumulating 40 runs off the first 5 overs. A persistent bowling performance from Pathmathan helped reduce the flow of runs as Expolanka did not have the license to score freely at 126 for the loss of 3 wickets by the 29th over. Padmanathan’s two wickets may have got Singer back into the game but it seemed like he was the lonely warrior for Singer as the rest of the bowlers struggled to pick up wickets.

>>Photo Album : Expo Lanka – A vs Singer SL – A – MCA Cricket 2019 – Tier B | Match 11<<

Read more: https://www.thepapare.com/hnb-rout-expolanka-holdings-moratuwa/

With Skipper Hewanayake and Wishwa Chathuranga back in the hut, Nadeera Nawala’s played an important hand to take Expolanka to 190 for the loss of 4 wickets. Nevertheless it was Ayana Siriwardana’s half century that guided Expolanka to a 6 wicket victory in the 45th over.

Brief scores

Singer Sri Lanka203 (48.2 overs)

Devin Padmanadan 45, Raveeb Yasas 43, Pasindu Dilshan 23, Sasith Lakshan 3/25,

Previn Speering 2/26 Neranjan Wanniarachchi 2/49,


Expolanka Holdings 205/4 (45 overs)

Ayana Siriwardana 54*, Nadeera Nawala 46, Wishwa Chathuranga 39, Darshana Hettirachchi 26*, Hashan Hewanayaka 22,

Devin Padmanadan 2/22