Sri Lanka looking for their first series win against strong England

England Women’s tour of Sri Lanka – 2019


The pre-series press conference and trophy unveiling for the England Women’s tour of Sri Lanka was held on 12th of March, Tuesday at JAIC Hilton with the participation of SLC Secretary Mohan de Silva, SL Women’s team chief selector Rasanjali de Alwis, head coaches of the two teams, Harsha de Silva and Mark Robinson and the two captains, Chamari Atapattu and Heather Knight.

England Women’s tour of Sri Lanka announced

The English team have come to Sri Lanka after a competitive tour to India where they lost the ODI series 2-1 but won the T20I series 3-0 and will play Sri Lanka in 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is.

The 3 ODIs will be a part of the ICC Women’s Championship – the qualification pathway to the 2021 Women’s Cricket World Cup.

Photo Album : Joint Media Briefing of Sri Lanka vs England Women’s Series 2019

Sri Lanka have lost all 4 ODI series they played under the Women’s championship 2017-20 and have won only one match so far.

Aus 12 11 1 0 0 22
Ind 15 8 7 0 0 16
NZ 15 7 8 0 0 14
SA 12 6 5 0 1 13
Eng 12 6 6 0 0 12
Pak 12 6 6 0 0 12
WI 12 5 6 0 1 11
SL 12 1 11 0 0 2

-Women’s ODI Championship 2017-20 Points Table-

South Africa women whitewash Sri Lanka

“We are looking forward to the upcoming 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. Our team is prepared well for this challenge and hoping for a competitive series “Sri Lanka Skipper Chamari Atapattu said at the press briefing.

Addressing the media, Heather Knight, captain of England team added, “We have come straight from India and have completed a good series there, This is my second visit to this island and I’ve never played outside Colombo, we are really excited to play here.”

Sri Lanka squad for WODIs against England announced

The matches are scheduled to be held on Colombo, Katunayake and Hambantota. The English team will get one practice match which is scheduled to be played at the P. Sara Oval vs a team consisting of 4 Sri Lanka National team players and 7 development team players.

Sri Lanka Squad – Chamari Atapattu ©, Shashikala Siriwardena, Prasadani Weerakkody, Anushka Sanjeewani, Hansima Karunaratne, Hasini Perera, Sugandika Kumari, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi De Silva, Inoshi Fernando, Kaveesha Dilhari, Achini Kulasuriya, Udeshika Probadhani, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadi Ranasinghe

England Squad – Heather Knight(c), Amy Ellen Jones, Tammy Beaumont, Danielle Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley Brown, Freya Davies, Natalie Sciver, Georgia Elwiss, Laura Marsh, Kate Cross, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Anya Shrubsole, Linsey Smith


  • 13th March 2019 – Practice Match – P. Sara Oval – Colombo
  • 16th March 2019 – 1st ODI – (09:50 A.M.) MRICS – Suriyawewa
  • 18th March 2019 – 2nd ODI – (09:50 A.M.) MRICS – Suriyawewa
  • 21st March 2019 – 3rd ODI – (09:50 A.M.) MCG – FTZ – Katunayake
  • 24th March 2019 – 1st T20 – (10:00 A.M.) P. Sara Oval – Colombo
  • 26th March 2019 – 2nd T20 -(10:00 A.M.) P. Sara Oval – Colombo
  • 28th March 2019 – 3rd T20 – (10:00 A.M.) P. Sara Oval – Colombo

>>Women’s Cricket<<