Eight Sri Lankans set to play in Abu Dhabi T10 League

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021


Eight Sri Lankans have been picked to play in the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021 which will be held from 19th November to 4th December.

The player draft for the fifth season of the Abu Dhabi T10 league was conducted yesterday (07th) where seven Sri Lankan cricketers namely Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana and Matheesha Pathirana were picked by several franchise teams.

Read: Wanindu Hasaranga retained by Deccan Gladiators

Chameera, Karunaratne, Theekshana and Lakshan will play for 2019 champions of the tournament Maratha Arabians while the defending champions Northern Warriors picked former Sri Lankan opener Tharanga for their title defense campaign this season.

Meanwhile left arm fast bowler Udana who recently retired from international cricket is set to play for Bangla Tigers along with young fast bowler Matheesha Pathirana.

Read: Sahan Arachchige’s all-round show pilot Pokhara Rhinos to final of Everest Premier League

A few days ago, Deccan Gladiators retained Sri Lanka’s leg-spinning all-rounder Hasaranga in their squad ahead of the player draft extending Sri Lanka’s contingent of players at Abu Dhabi T10 League to eight this season.