Double Blue Hockey 7s returns to celebrate Wesley College’s 150th Anniversary

Double Blue Hockey 7sDouble Blue Hockey 7s


The Old Wesleyites Sports Club (OWSC) is thrilled to announce the return of the ‘Double Blue Hockey 7s’ tournament. This year’s event promises to be an exhilarating display of hockey prowess as both men’s and women’s teams compete for the esteemed Walter Jayasuriya Trophy on the 21st April from 8.00 AM onwards.  

Wesley College, a pioneer in education with a legacy spanning 150 years, is celebrating its sesquicentennial anniversary this year. This landmark occasion adds a special significance to the Double Blue Hockey 7s tournament, highlighting the rich heritage and tradition of the college. 

Walter Jayasuriya, fondly known as the “Father of Ceylon/Sri Lanka Hockey,” played a pivotal role in shaping the hockey landscape of the country. This tournament, named in his honor, pays tribute to his remarkable contributions and the enduring legacy he left behind. 

The tournament will feature ten men’s teams and four women’s teams from leading schools, showcasing their exceptional talent and competitive spirit. With the rich history of the Old Wesleyites Sports Club, which has nurtured numerous hockey players over the past years, the event promises to be a celebration of the sport and the legacy of Wesley’s hockey. 

In the men’s competition, top old boys teams including the hosts, Old Wesleyites Sports Club, Old Kingswoodians Hockey Club, Old Bens Sports Club, Royal College Hockey Club, Old Thomian Hockey Union, Old Nalandian Hockey Club, Old Ananda Hockey Wing, Old Trinitians Sports Club, Old Joes Hockey Club, and Old Peterite Sports Club will battle it out for the coveted title. 

Meanwhile, in the women’s segment, fierce competition awaits between old girls teams of Visakhians Hockey, Bishopian Hockey, Janadhipathi Hockey Wing, and Old Musaeites Hockey Club. 

Previous Year’s Winners:
In the inaugural Double Blue Hockey 7s held in 2023, Kingswood College emerged as the champions of the men’s league, and Janadhipathi Balika Vidyalaya claimed victory in the women’s league. Royal College was recognized as the men’s Plate Champions and St. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia, secured the men’s Bowl Champion title. 

Hockey enthusiasts, supporters, and the community at large are invited to come to the Wesley College Grounds on 21st April 2024 to witness the thrilling matches, experience the passion of the players, and be part of the rich hockey heritage that Walter Jayasuriya has bestowed upon us. 

The LIVE action of the Double Blue Hockey 7s 2024 will be shown on – Sri Lanka’s No.1 Sports Channel.