Dons; Looking to retain the Battle of the Golds 2015


The Colombo 07 lads ending their season on a positive note is all set to defend their title against their arch rivals Mahanama College, Colombo.


A bit of a History

The most momentous moment in the history of cricket at D.S. Senanayake College would be defeating their arch rivals outright in the eighth encounter between them. Binura Fernando leading the side in the year 2014 achieved this milestone signing off the season with  four outright wins.


Season thus far

It has been a medium performance by the outfit this year as they have recorded three outright wins against Kingswood College, Cary College and President’s College Kotte out of the sixteen matches they played. They have nine first innings wins against some of the top schools in the island nation such as Trinity, Isipathana and Thurtsan.


Key Players

Harith Madunwantha – the lad in charge of the eleven boys who are trailing behind him have done justice to him and his team. Playing as a middle order batsman , the skipper has scored 505 runs which includes three half centuries and one century. Playing the role of an all-rounder he has captured 32 wickets this season setting the perfect example for the boys behind him.

Playing in as the number three batsman on the batting order Akil Inham is in the form of his life. Scoring a total of just above 900 runs this season he has anchored the side in many occasions and have proved to be the most dangerous batsman of the side. Scoring six half centuries and three centuries this elegant right hander is also playing in the national under 19 team.

Kaveen Bandara the opener for the college sadly missed out a number of matches as he was on national duty playing in the under-19 team for the island. Yet, in the matches he played he has been laying the foundation for the rest of the batting order to follow on without pressure at all. Scoring 550 runs which includes one century he will be a major threat to the opposition with his experience in the game.

Shifran Muthaliff powering up the bowling department for the outfit has been the lethal weapon to gun down an opposition at any given time. Spinning the ball off his right hand he has captured 56 wickets this season with two five wicket hauls and one ten wicket haul under his name.


Youngsters to watch out for

Playing in the debut year Sachin Bandara will be an asset that everyone will set eyes on for the future. Spinning the bowl of his left hand he has been the faithful partner of Muthaliff tightening screws from one end and helping his senior lad to get the breakthroughs. He has captured 46 wickets so far in the season with two five wicket hauls under his name.


Coaching Contingent     

Pasan Wanasinghe the man-in-charge of the Dons for this season has performed well his duties as he already has gifted two cricketing brands to the National U-19 squad in the middle of the season. Playing his cricket in a couple of leading domestic clubs in Sri Lanka this man holds experience and it will indeed come handy in the future.


In their own words

Skipper Maduwantha sharing his thoughts with “Well I don’t think we have to worry about the big match a lot. We have strong batting line up with two players in sublime form plus a decent bowling attack to back them up. So runs on the board and defend it to retain the trophy this year as well”

Coach answering our question on the preparation for the big matches “We have ended up the season on good note and the boys are in a wining mentality and we have a balanced side but who plays better cricket on the day will win and I definitely hope that it would be us”.


Full Squad with disciplines

Harin Maduwantha – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Thimila Vidyasekara – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Fast

Kaveen Bandara – Left Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Uvin Bandara – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Fast

Sachin Bandara – Left Hand Bat – Left Arm Leg Spin

Shifran Muthalif – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Shezad Ameen – Left Hand Bat

Akil Inham – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Udith Nanayakkara – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Udesh Sendanayake – Right Hand Bat – Wicket-keeper

Torin Pitigala – Right Hand Bat – Right Arm Fast

Raveen De Sliva – Right Hand Bat – Left Arm Leg Spin

Osura Bulathsinghala – Left Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Vishal Amunugoda – Left Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Vihan Gunesekara – Left Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Pasindu Mananjana – Left Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin

Geeth Deelaka – Left Hand Bat – Right Arm Off Spin