NCC opener Niroshan Dickwella and Galle CC right-hander TN Sampath stroked excellent centuries on the first day of the week 4 matches in the SLC Premier League Tournament 2015/16 on December 26th, Boxing Day.

NCC vs Badureliya

Photo Album – NCC vs Badureliya CC – Premier League Tournament 2015/16

22-year former Trinity skipper Niroshan Dickwella smashed a 156-ball 137 for NCC against Badureliya CC as the hosts’ piled on 437 for 6 at stumps on day one at NCC grounds.

Dickwella’s special knock contain 14 fours and 2 sixes. Young Nimesha Gunasinghe made 90 as he was involved in a mammoth 186-run stand for the 2nd wicket with his home town mate. NCC skipper Farveez Maharoof remained unbeaten on 67 as well.

NCC – 437/6 in 90 overs: Niroshan Dickwella 137, Nimesha Gunasinghe 90, Upul Tharanga 38, Sandun Weerakkody 41, Farveez Maharoof 67*, Dulanjana Mendis 3/134, Imesh Udayanga 3/90.

Galle vs Bloomfield

Brother of TM Dilshan, TN Sampath recorded his 4th first-class ton as Galle took the upper hand in their game against Bloomfield at Bloomfield grounds.

The opening pair of Sampath and Damitha Hunukumbura added 186 before the latter was dismissed unfortunately for 94. Sampath consumed 187 balls for his 100 which included 13 fours and 2 sixes. The visitors ended day one on a healthy position at 285 for 5.

Galle – 285/5 in 88 overs: TN Sampath 100, Damitha Hunukumbura 94, Nisal Randika 43*, Vishwa Fernando 1/34.

SSC vs SL Army

The Soldiers amassed 240 for 8 at stumps on day one against SSC at Maitland Place.

After being 93 for 5, the visitors recovered through young Sanjika Ridma’s fighting 67 which restored the game into balance. Double-arm spinner, Tharindu Rathnayake picked up 3 scalps for the hosts’.

SL Army – 240/8 in 90 overs: Sanjika Ridma 67*, Lakshan Edirisinghe 48, Seekuge Prasanna 31, Tharindu Rathnayake 3/72, Dasun Shanaka 2/37.

Moors vs Chilaw Marians

A collective effort by the Chilaw Marians’ bowlers helped them restrict Moors for 201 on day one in their match at Moors grounds.

Mahela Udawatte top-scored for the home team with a patient 66 while veterans, Lahiru Gamage and Dinuk Hettiarachchi picked up 3 wickets each. The visitors were 37 for 2 in reply.

Moors – 201 all out in 68.3 overs: Mahela Udawatte 66, Oshadha Fernando 37, Lahiru Gamage 3/41, Dinuk Hettiarachchi 3/73, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 2/53.

Chilaw Marians – 37/2 in 20 overs: Saliya Saman 19*.

Tamil Union vs SL Ports Authority

Tamil Union took major honours at the end of day one against defending champions, SL Ports Authority at Colts grounds.

The visitors bowled out SL Ports Authority to 183 with none of the batsmen crossing over 50 runs. Off-spinner Dhananjaya De Silva and left-arm seamer Charith Jayampathi claimed 3 wickets apiece. Tamil Union were 81 for 3 at close of play.

SL Ports Authority – 183 all out in 56.1 overs: Gayan Maneeshan 48, Tharaka Waduge 35, Harsha Rajapakse 36, Charith Jayampathi 3/53, Dhananjaya De Silva 3/8.

Tamil Union – 81/3 in 24 overs: Dhananjaya De Silva 26, Tharanga Paranavithana 25*, Chanaka Komasaru 2/15.

Saracens vs CCC

Andy Solomons’ whirlwind 57-ball 96 helped CCC post 263 against Saracens at Army grounds in Mattegoda.

Former Sri Lanka under 19 player smashed 11 fours and 3 sixes but off-spinner Umesh Karunarathne and left-arm spinner Akila Ishanka shared 7 wickets for the hosts. Saracens were 33 for 3 at stumps.

CCC – 263 all out in 55.2 overs: Andy Solomons 96, Nisham Mazahir 33, Umesh Karunaratne 4/56, Akila Ishanka 3/44, Rajitha Priyan 2/38.

Saracens – 33/3 in 10 overs: Suresh Niroshan 18, Sachith Pathirana 2/4.

All six matches will be continued tomorrow (27th December) for second day’s play.