A goal at the very last minute strike by Shamindri Perera of  Bishop’s College saw them retaining the shield for a second successive year at the 13th Annual Ladies-Bishop’s Hockey encounter that was worked out at the Astro Turf in Racecourse this evening.

The game started under rainy conditions and there was nothing to separate between the two teams as the rivalry saw a fiercely contested game as much off the field as on it, with a large contingent of Purple and Red spectators filling the stands.

While both schools strove hard amidst the very vocal support, the Bishopians played an attacking game continuing to apply the pressure which ultimately led to the last minute goal by Perera taking the championship 1-0 much to the delight of the Bishop’s College fans.

Photo Album – 13th Annual Ladies’ College vs Bishop’s College Hockey Encounter

The U 17 competition saw similar fight and drive and it was heartening to witness such hard work and enthusiasm among such young players. However, Bishop’s College was the victor taking that shield as well by 1-0 through a penalty corner which led to Anjali Mahikandawala scoring the solitary goal.

The chief guest for this event was Mrs Ruvinka Jayathileka, the hockey captain of Ladies College for the year 2003 and the 13th year old encounter ended with an awards ceremony.

The special awards for both categories were as follows ;


Most valuable player was Anjali Mahikandawala.

Most valuable defensive player was Kiara Benjamin.

Best goalkeeper was Thenuki Samaranayake.


Most valuable player was Ayindhie Alles.

Most defensive player was Nihinsa Widanpathirana.

Best goalkeeper Thenuki Samaranayake.