Home Cricket England thrash Australia by eight wickets to reach World Cup final

England thrash Australia by eight wickets to reach World Cup final

CWC19 | Australia vs England

©Photo by Dibyangshu Sarkar / AFP

England swept into their first World Cup final for 27 years as the hosts crushed Australia by eight wickets on Thursday to book a clash with New Zealand in Sunday’s title match.

>>> #CWC19 HUB <<<

Eoin Morgan’s side ended Australia’s bid to retain the World Cup in ruthless fashion at Edgbaston, dismissing their old rivals for 223 and then powering to victory in 32.1 overs thanks to Jason Roy’s blistering 85.

England will head to Lord’s bidding to win the 50-over World Cup for the first time, with 2015 runners-up New Zealand, who they thrashed by 119 runs in the group stage, standing between Morgan’s men and the trophy.

England, who were in the semi-finals for the first time since 1992, have lost all three of their World Cup finals.

The most recent of those painful defeats came in 1992 when Graham Gooch’s side were beaten by Pakistan, while Australia in 1987 and the West Indies in 1979 have also denied England in the final.

New Zealand survive Jadeja scare to stun India in World Cup semi-final thriller

Australia’s first-ever World Cup semi-final defeat, after seven previous victories at this stage, shattered the five-time champions’ hopes of reaching the final for the sixth time in the past seven editions.

While Australia lick their wounds before facing England in the Ashes next month, the progress of Morgan’s team comes after a four-year overhaul.

England’s woeful first-round exit at the 2015 World Cup prompted a root-and-branch reform of their approach to one-day internationals for a side that had long placed Test success above all other considerations.

Australian coach Trevor Bayliss was drafted in, sparking an impressive transformation that has seen England climb to number one in the ODI rankings and move to within touching distance of World Cup glory.

>>> More Cricket News <<<


226/2 (32.1)
223/10 (49)
David Warner c Jonny Bairstow b Chris Woakes9112081.82
Aaron Finch lbw b Jofra Archer01000.00
Steve Smith run out ()851196071.43
PSP Handscomb b Chris Woakes4120033.33
 Alex Carey c JM Vince b Adil Rashid46704065.71
Marcus Stoinis lbw b Adil Rashid02000.00
Glenn Maxwell c Eoin Morgan b Jofra Archer22232195.65
Pat Cummins c Joe Root b Adil Rashid6100060.00
Mitchell Starc c Jos Buttler b Chris Woakes29361180.56
Jason Behrendorff b Mark Wood140025.00
Nathan Lyon not out560083.33
Extras16 (b 0 , lb 6 , nb 0, w 10, pen 0)
Total223/10 (49 Overs, RR: 4.55)
Fall of Wickets 1-4 (1.1) Aaron Finch, 2-10 (2.4) David Warner, 3-14 (6.1) PSP Handscomb, 4-117 (27.2)  Alex Carey, 5-118 (27.6) Marcus Stoinis, 6-157 (34.5) Glenn Maxwell, 7-166 (37.4) Pat Cummins, 8-217 (47.1) Steve Smith, 9-217 (47.2) Mitchell Starc, 10-223 (48.6) Jason Behrendorff,
Chris Woakes802032.50
Jofra Archer1003223.20
Ben Stokes402205.50
Mark Wood904515.00
Liam Plunkett804405.50
Adil Rashid1005435.40

Jason Roy c  Alex Carey b Pat Cummins856595130.77
Jonny Bairstow lbw b Mitchell Starc34435079.07
Joe Root not out494680106.52
Eoin Morgan not out453900115.38
Extras13 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 12, pen 0)
Total226/2 (32.1 Overs, RR: 7.03)
Fall of Wickets 1-124 (17.2) Jonny Bairstow, 2-147 (19.4) Jason Roy,
Jason Behrendorff8.123804.69
Mitchell Starc907017.78
Pat Cummins703414.86
Nathan Lyon504909.80
Steve Smith1021021.00
Marcus Stoinis201306.50