Dilanka and Seneshi rule the Sea

Annual 5km Open Water Championships 2023


The annual 5km open water – Sea swim championships 2023, organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Association, concluded earlier today at Balapitiya.

B.Dilanka Shehan from Sri Lanka Army and Seneshi Herath from Rainbow Aquatics clinched the winning titles for the second consecutive year with their exceptional efforts in the sea. While I. Theekshana and M. Kumara from Lion Swimming Club- Ambalangoda finished 2nd and 3rd in the men’s category. D. De Silva from Sri Devananda College – Ambalangoda and P. De Silva from Prajapathi Gothami Girls College finished as 1st and 2nd runner-up in the women’s category.

At the same time, the Men and Women Overall Championships were won by the Sri Lanka Army and Prajapathi Gothami Girls College, respectively. It is interesting to see defenders on the land – the Sri Lanka Army- conquering the sea by consecutively winning the championship 9 times since 2011.

Another inspiring scene of the competition was the courageous swim by young Para-athlete Naveed Raheem of D.S. Senanayake College.

In addition, the 10km Open Water Championships 2023 will be held next Sunday, the 29th January, at Balapitiya.