Lyceum Nugegoda reigns supremacy for 3rd successive year

Nikitha Grero Challenge Trophy 2019

Lyceum International Panadura vs Lyceum International Nugegoda

Lyceum International School Nugegoda won the Nikitha Grero Challenge Trophy for the 3rd consecutive year, in their 4th annual 50 overs big match, played today (22nd February) at the P. Saravanamuththu Stadium, Colombo.

Lyceum Panadura skipper Devin Rodrigo won the toss and opted to field first. The decision seemed to be working well for the Panadura lads when the they struck an early wicket in just the 3rd over.

Lyceum Nugegoda fought back well, however, opening batsman Gamitha Pawan fell just a run short of a half century, after a well-versed hit. It was their vice captain Pasindu Rajapaksha who stepped up to the plate and stole the show with a 96 ball century. The Nugegoda boys were bowled out eventually in 48 overs after scoring a decent 263 runs. Isuru Perera and Dulana Perera impressed with the ball claiming 3 wickets each, while Niven Rodrigo bagged 2.

Photos: Lyceum International Panadura vs Lyceum International Nugegoda | Nikitha Grero Challenge Trophy

In their counter attack, Lyceum Panadura started their run chase of 264 rather positively. Their opening pair managed a partnership of 47 runs, while adding 43 runs at the first wicket. Yeshitha Kalupahana was a one-man warrior for his side as he ended his innings on 63 not out.

Three quick wickets for Lakindu Sachin saw the Panadura boys rapidly losing control of the game, and despite having wickets at hand, they managed just 215 runs in their allotted 50 overs.

That gave Lyceum Nugegoda the 48 run victory and crowned them the Nikitha Grero Challenge Trophy winners for the 3rd consecutive year.

  • Individual Awards

Best Batsman – Pasindu Rajapaksha (Lyceum Nugegoda)

Best Bowler – Lakindu Sachin (Lyceum Nugegoda)

Best Fielder – Isuru Perera (Lyceum Panadura)

Man of the Match – Pasindu Rajapaksha (Lyceum Nugegoda 100 from 98 balls)