Mahinda College emerge champions of Schools U19 – Tier B leg

Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021


Mahinda College, Galle and Devapathiraja College, Rathgama engaged in a tussle for the championship of Schools U19 Division 1 – Tier B Cricket Tournament 2021 today (2nd May) at NCC Grounds.

Read More : Shevon Daniel’s heroics earns 3rd consecutive championship for Joes

After winning the toss, Mahinda College invited Devapathiraja College to bat first. It was a happy outing for the Mahinda College bowlers who bowled in tough areas more often than not. As a unit, Mahinda bowlers were able to get rid of the Devapathiraja batting line up for just 99 runs. 

Navod Paranavithana was the pick of the bowling as the Sri Lanka youth star picked up 3 wickets for just 8 runs. Subhanu Rajapaksha joined him at the top of the table with 3 scalps to his name. 

The highest score a Devapathiraja batsman made was 17 runs. That should sum up the Devapathiraja batting. 

On the other hand, Mahinda College who had a cakewalk of a chase to seal the title made their mess, eventually got over the line. 

It was the late middle-order batsman Danuja Induwara, who is quite known for his hard-hitting knocks, had to come in and see through almost 10 overs for his hard-earned 24 runs to make sure his team was safely over the line. 

Irushka Thimira, One of the top wicket-takers of the tournament, picked 3 wickets for 25 runs, which gave a brief moment of optimism for the Rajans. That, however wasn’t good enough to earn them the championship. 

Read : Devapathiraja and Mahinda to clash in Final

Brief scores

Devapathiraja College 99 (36.5)

Sasanka Nirmal 17, Navod Paranavithana 3/08, Subanu Rajapaksha 3/22, Osindu Kavindya 2/24

Mahinda College 103/7 (35.4)

Dhanuja Induwara 24*, Kawsitha Kodituwakku 23, Irushika Thimira 3/25