J’Pura defend SLUG Cricket title; Jaffna flop in final leap to glory

13th Sri Lanka University Games 2019 – Cricket

J'pura Flames – University of Sri Jayawardenepura

University of Sri Jayawardenepura recorded a comprehensive 45-run win over University of Jaffna to win the 13th Sri Lanka University Games cricket tournament today at the Rajarata University Grounds in Mihintale.

Read: Undefeated Jaffna and J’Pura cruise to SLUG 2019 Cricket finals

University of Jaffna who beat South Eastern University of Sri Lanka in the same venue last week chasing down the target set by their opponents were asked to field first once again as University of Sri Jayawardenepura skipper won the toss and elected to bat first.

Taking first lease of the Mihintale wicket, J’Pura boys amassed a very competitive total of 289 losing all 10 wickets in their allotted 50 overs. Kanishka Uggalpaya top-scored with 91 while Isitha Wijesundara scored 45. In bowling for Jaffna, R. Lohatheeswaran, N. Danushan and J. Jananthan picked up 2 wickets each.

Read More: J’Pura wins SLUG Badminton Championship 2019

The run-chase for Jaffna could not take them all the way to the title despite valuable half-centuries from T. Senthuran and   P. Thuwaraka Seelan who scored 74 and 51 respectively. The bowling effort from J’Pura was contributed by everyone as they bundled Jaffna for 244 in 43.5 overs.

Brief Scores

USJ – 289 (50) Kanishka Uggalpaya 91, Isitha Wijesundara 45, Damithra Panditharathna 33, Madhawa Fernando 34, Gihan Danushka 38, R. Lohatheeshwar 2/45, N. Danushan 2/22, J. Jananthan 2/38

UOJ – 244 (43.5) T. Senthuran 74, P. Thuwaraka Seelan 51, D.M. Bandrara 38, Shehara Ranatunga 2/17, Sajith De Silva 2/33

USJ won by 45 runs

Read Also: University of Jaffna claim University Games Netball title

With this win J’Pura defends their SLUG Cricket title which they won in 2016 beating University of Kelaniya. 

This year it was all about J’Pura and Jaffna as the two teams stormed in to the finals undefeated. 

Road to Finals
University of Sri Jayawardenepura University of Jaffna
First Round
Beat SUSL by 204 runs Beat UOR by 4 wickets
Beat EUSL by 10 wickets  Beat UVPA by 284 runs
Beat UOK by 180 runs Beats UOP by 3 wickets 
Quarter Finals
Beat UOM by 73 runs Beat UOC by 4 wickets
Semi Finals
Beat RUSL by 93 runs Beat SEUSL by 8 Wickets

 >>For More Cricket News<<