Home Cricket Schools Cricket Spinners Madhusha and Kandambi put Mahinda on top

Spinners Madhusha and Kandambi put Mahinda on top

114th Lovers’ Quarrel - Day 1


A splendid bowling performance by Kushan Madhusha and Ashen Kandambi helped Mahinda College to a strong position at the end of day 1 of the 114th Lovers’ Quarrel, the Annual Big Match encounter between traditional rivals Richmond College at the Galle International cricket stadium.

Madhusha and Kandambi were brought into bowl after the completion of the first 10 overs in the Richmond innings with the score at 34 for 1, and from there on soon had the Richmond College batsmen in all sorts of trouble. Madhusha ended the day with 3 for 15 and Kandambi 2 for 8.

At the start of the Richmond innings, openers Aditiya Siriwardhana and Vinuja Kiriella got off to a sound start by putting on 34 runs for the first wicket. However, from there on, they lost wickets at regular intervals and were 56 for 6 at one stage. Sandun Mendis, 20 not out and Sammu Vimud, 18 not out with an unfinished 43-run partnership helped Richmond College to finish the day on 99 for 6.

Kushan Madhusha ended the day with 3 for 15

Photos: Richmond College vs Mahinda College – 114th Lovers’ Quarrel | Day 1

Ashen Kandambi finished with 2 for 8

Earlier in the day Richmond College captain Thaveesha Abishek won the toss and surprisingly decided to put Mahinda College into bat on a wicket which looked ideal for batting. Mahinda openers Navod Paranavithana and Kawshitha Kodithuwakku got off to a flying start by putting on 58 runs for the first wicket. Later in the innings, Nipun Malinga 44 (2 boundaries and 4 sixers) and skipper Vinura Dulsara 27 batted well to take the Mahinda College score to 129 for 4, but the rest of the batsmen failed to make an impression against some tight bowling by the Richmond spinners. The last seven Mahinda College wickets fell for just 66 runs.

For Richmond, Dilum Sudeera 5 for 49, Sandun Mendis 3 for 53, and Dimuth Sandaruwan 2 for 33 bowled their hearts out to restrict the strong Mahinda batting line up.

Richmond College trail Mahinda by 98 runs with four wickets intact.  The stage seems set for a thrilling day of cricket tomorrow with Mahinda College and Richmond College both looking to muscle into a commanding position in the game – whether it be scoring runs or making early inroads into the batting line up, as batting towards the latter part of the second day will not be easy with the wicket assisting the spin bowlers.



Richmond College
144/10 (46)
Mahinda College
197/10 (63.3) & 27/1 (7)
Navod Dinusri Paranavithana lbw b Sandun Mendis26303086.67
K Kodithuwakku c Kavindu Hansika Edirweera b Dilum Sudeera36503072.00
D Induwara lbw b Dilum Sudeera9182050.00
Ravindu Hansika Welihinda c Vinuja Kiriella b Sandun Mendis05000.00
Nipun Malinga b Sandun Mendis442914151.72
Vinura Hiranjith Dulsara c Thaveesha Abhishek b Dimuth Sadaruwan26912028.57
Ashen Janith Gunasekara Kandambi b Dilum Sudeera17181094.44
K Madusha c Thaveesha Abhishek b Dilum Sudeera3110027.27
Pasan Ranmal Pethangoda c Dilum Sudeera b Dimuth Sadaruwan11681016.18
Kushan Randeepa c Thaveesha Abhishek b Dilum Sudeera4281014.29
Subanu K Rajapaksha not out8291027.59
Extras13 (b 3 , lb 7 , nb 3, w 0)
Total197/10 (63.3 Overs, RR: 3.1)
Kalpa Nethsara501803.60
Amshi Oren502605.20
Sandun Mendis1824232.33
Dilum Sudeera23.334852.06
Dimuth Sadaruwan1233422.83
Adithya Siriwardena st Vinura Hiranjith Dulsara b K Madusha20482041.67
Vinuja Kiriella b K Malliyawadu6250024.00
Bhanuka Manohara lbw b Ashen Janith Gunasekara Kandambi13291144.83
Thaveesha Abhishek st Vinura Hiranjith Dulsara b K Madusha6141042.86
Dimuth Sadaruwan b K Madusha04000.00
Dilum Sudeera c Vinura Hiranjith Dulsara b Ashen Janith Gunasekara Kandambi03000.00
Sandun Mendis b Navod Dinusri Paranavithana36426085.71
Vimud Sapnaka lbw b Navod Dinusri Paranavithana20440045.45
Amshi Oren c Subanu K Rajapaksha b K Madusha5121041.67
Chamath Dilsara c Ravindu Hansika Welihinda b K Madusha15271055.56
Kalpa Nethsara not out3200150.00
Extras20 (b 10 , lb 5 , nb 0, w 5)
Total144/10 (46 Overs, RR: 3.13)
Nipun Malinga1013603.60
Pasan Ranmal Pethangoda502204.40
K Malliyawadu611813.00
Navod Dinusri Paranavithana922422.67
K Madusha922052.22
Subanu K Rajapaksha53701.40
Ashen Janith Gunasekara Kandambi201025.00

Navod Dinusri Paranavithana not out13210161.90
K Kodithuwakku b Sandun Mendis131200108.33
Ravindu Hansika Welihinda b130033.33
Extras0 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 0)
Total27/1 (7 Overs, RR: 3.86)
Sandun Mendis40912.25
Dilum Sudeera301806.00