Wins for Central and Southern Province; Sanjika and Dineth smash tons


The third round of group stage matches in the SLC U23 Inter-Provincial Two-Day Cricket Tournament 2017 ended today with Central and Southern Provinces registering outright victories.

Northern Province vs Central Province

Resuming day two on 284/4, Central lads powered their way to a formidable 368/7 declared in 58.4 overs in the game played at BRC grounds. Skipper Ron Chandraguptha was the highlight of day 1 with an outstanding ton. Sri Lanka ODI cap Wanindu Hasaranga smashed a quick-fire 67 along with right-hander Nuwanidu Fernando who also made a classy half-ton to give Central Province a 275 first innings lead. Northern Province coming in to bat in the 2nd innings, once again were dismissed for a disappointing 108 in the 31st over. Right-arm seamer Lahiru Samarakoon was the chief destroyer with ball as he grabbed a 5-for, to follow up his 3-wicket haul in the 1st innings, to give Central lads a remarkable innings and 167 win over Northern Province.

Northern Province 93 (25.4) Y Kajanath 28*, Risith Upamal 22, Mohammed Shiraz 6/40, Lahiru Samarakoon 3/22 & 108 (30.2) V Jathushan 23*, Lahiru Samarakoon 5/22, Lakshan Fernando 2/13.

Central Province 368/7d (58.4) Ron Chandraguptha 137, Wanindu Hasaranga 67, Nuwanidu Fernando 53*, Dilan Jayalath 40, Nimesha Gunasinghe 26, Thilan Nimesh 2/75.

Result – Central Province won by innings and 167 runs.

Western Province South vs Southern Province

Southern Province skipper Charith Asalanka declared their innings on 243/2 in 45 overs after having a 126-run lead in the 1st innings in the group game worked off today in Hambantota. Asalanka and Sithira Gimhan were the heroes of day one with solid centuries.  Western Province South who were knocked out for a below-par 117 earlier in the game, fought back strongly in the 2nd innings to post 228. Right-hander Malindu Maduranga made a valuable 87 to set up a target for their counterparts. Chasing 103 to win Southern Province managed to reach the target with relative ease.

Western Province South 117 (41.4) Minhaj Jaleel 36, Pramod Maduwantha 27*, Malindu Maduranga 24, Adeesha Thilanchana 5/23, Sajith Sankalpa 2/20, Charith Asalanka 2/29 & 228 (66.2) Malindu Maduranga 87, Sandakan Pathirana 43, Madawa Nimesh 37, Malith Mahela 4/61, Banuka Madupriya 2/44.

Southern Province 243/2d (45) Sithara Gimhana 101*, Charith Asalanka 100, Mishen Silva 2/39 & 103/3 (17.5) Charith Asalanka 55, Lasith Lakshan 21, Pasindu Isira 20*, Mishen Silva 2/16.

Result – Southern Province won by 7 wickets.

Western Province Central vs North Central Province

Western Province Central were bowled out yesterday for a modest 204 in the game which concluded today at Bloomfield grounds. Resuming on 49/0, North Central lads took control of the game as stylish opener Dineth Hewathanthri who stroked a magnificent 136 and he was ably supported by left-hander Kavindu Madarasinghe with an excellent half-ton to guide them to a resounding first innings win over much fancied WP Central.

Western Province Central 204 (55.3) Akeel Inham 73, Anuk Fernando 37, Lahiru Vimukthi 30, Sandeepa Nisansala 3/09, Chandula Weerarathna 2/21, Chathuranga Abeysingha 2/32, Jagath Rajapaksha 2/45 & 102/5 (21.1) Akeel Inham 46, Hashan Dumindu 27, Lahiru Vimukthi 20.

North Central Province 339 (98.4) Dineth Hewathanthri 136, Kavindu Madarasinghe 51, Ajith Rajapaksha 43, Helakamal Nanayakkara 41, Yohan Mendis 29, Janith Liyanage 3/44, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/50, Lahiru Vimukthi 2/41, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/80.

Result – Match drawn

Eastern Province vs Uva Province

Eastern Province won the toss and opted to bat first at Matara Uyanwattta Stadium. Left-hander Sanjika Ridma was the highlight of the day as he stroked an unbeaten 152, while Ramindu Nikeshala made a classy 90 to steer the Eastern lads to a strong 384/9 in the opening day. Although it’s tough day for Uva Province Harshana Vimarshana picked up 5 scalps on a batting friendly surface. In reply Uva Province were 105 for 2 down at close of play.

Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Eastern Province 384/9d (73) Sanjika Ridma 152*, Ramindu Nikeshala 90, Sachintha Jayathilake 32, Pramud Hettiwatta 32, Nimesh Vimukthi 27, Ramesh Nimantha 22, Hashan Vimarshana 5/61, Harsha Rajapakshe 2/76, Evanka Sanjula 2/96.

Uva Province 105/2 (25) Harsha Rajapaksha 43*, Lisula Lakshan 30, Samahi Salfdeen 29.