Methushan shines in DS’ second outright win


D. S. Senanayake recorded the second outright win of the season as they beat new-comers to the top division, St. Anne’s College Kurunegala at their adopted home ground in Bandaragama.

After winning the toss the visitors, St. Anne’s College were inserted to bat first by the DS skipper Pasindu Adithya at the Bandaragama Public Grounds.

Batting first on day 1 (4th Wednesday) St. Anne’s were bowled out for a mere 104 runs in 51 overs. Uvindu Chandrasiri, Tharindu Dissanayake, Chamath Yatawara and Methushan Kumara bagged 2 wickets each for the hosts while Lasith Warnakulasooriya top scored for St. Anne’s with 53 runs.

>>Avishka and Arindha shine for St. Anthony’s

Batting in reply D. S. Senanayake College scored 209 gaining a 105-run lead thanks to the 62 runs by Ayantha De Silva and skipper Adithya’s 39 runs. Mayaaz Muzammil claiming impressive figures of 7/76 was the pick of the bowlers for St. Anne’s.

Repeating Muzammil’s feat DS’ left-arm spinner Methushan Kumara ripped through the Annites batting order with 7 wickets for 47 runs.

Needing just 53 runs to win the hosts cruised towards victory in 11.2 overs although they lost 3 wickets.  

Brief Scores

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala – 104 (51) Lasith Warnakulasooriya 53, Uvindu Chandrasiri 2/04, Tharindu Dissanayake 2/08, Chamath Yatawara 2/18, Methushan Kumara 2/28 & 157 (65.4) Kavindu Ranasingha 70, Methushan Kumara 7/47,

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo – 209 (53.4) Ayantha De Silva 62, Pasindu Adithya 39, Chamath Yatawara 25, Amitha Dabare 20, Mayaaz Muzammil 7/76 & 54/3 (11.2) Muditha lakshan 23, Amitha Dabare 22, Pivithu Fernando 2/11

D.S. Senanayake College won by 7 wickets