Ayesh and Bawantha put Thurstan in command on day one

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Ayesh Harshana’s half century with the bat and Bawantha Jayasinghe’s all-round efforts helped Thurstan College take upper hand on day one against St. Servatius College in their Quarter Final Play-Off in the Singer ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19.  

Richmond eliminated – POW through to quarters

Thurstan College, Colombo vs St. Servatius College, Matara  

The quarter final playoff between Thurstan College and St. Servatius College commenced today at the Thurstan College Grounds. After being put into bat first, the hosts posted 283 runs on the board with Ayesh Harshana (71) and Ranesh Silva (51) top scoring with half-tons.

All-round Romal Fernando stars as De Mazenod take honours

In reply, the visitors were in a spot of bother as they lost three quick wickets for just 18 runs at close of play on day one. Right arm seamer Bawantha Jayasinghe picked up 2 wickets for 5 runs. The match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Thurstan College – 283 (79.4) Ayesh Harshana 71, Ranesh Silva 51, Bawantha Jayasinghe 35, Yohan Liyanage 26, Nimesh Perera 26, Chethaka Denuwan 2/31, Mateesha Madushan 2/33, Shashika Dulshan 2/70, Kesara Nuwantha 2/74

St. Servatius College – 18/3 (14) Bawantha Jayasinghe 2/05

Devapathiraja College, Rathgama vs Sri Devananda College, Ambalangoda  

The traditional fixture between Devapathiraja College and Sri Devananda College commenced today at Sooriyawewa. After being put into bat first, the Devapathiraja batsmen made only 156 runs in 71.2 overs as Samudu Pramod ripped through their batting lineup, picking up 7 wickets for 48 runs. In reply, Sri Devananda College was 45 for 3 at stumps on day one.

Hansika Welihinda keeps Mahinda steady on day one

Brief scores

Devapathiraja College – 156 (71.2) Jeewaka Shashen 56, Pawan Sanjaya 24, Sudeera Weerarathne 21, Samudu Pramod 7/48 Chamindu Anushka 2/40

Sri Devananda College – 45/3 (21) Pavan Sandeesh 2/05

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs Mahanama College, Colombo  

The traditional fixture between Prince of Wales College and Mahanama College commenced today at Prince of Wales College Grounds. The Mahanama College skipper won the toss and invited the opposition to bat first. It was a good decision as they were able to restrict the Cambrians to just 77 runs.

Mahinda College cruises through to Quarterfinals

The visitors put on a much better batting display, scoring 211 runs in their first innings. Pawantha Weerasinghe (62) and Vinuka Rubasinghe (60) top scored with half-tons. In-form left arm spinner Kaumal Nanayakkara took 5 scalps for 70 runs for the Cambrians.

Brief scores

Prince of Wales College – 77 (33.5) Devaka Peiris 34*, Achintha Supun 3/09, Roshen Perera 3/13 Pawantha Weerasinghe 2/11

Mahanama College – 211 (56.4) Pawantha Weerasinghe 62, Vinuka Rubasinghe 60, Pavan Rathnayake 26, Sonal Gamage 22, Kaumal Nanayakkara 5/70, Lakshan Perera 2/27, Suvath Mendis 2/49

St. John’s College, Jaffna vs St. Anthony’s College, Wattala  

The traditional fixture between St. John’s College and St. Anthony’s College commenced today at Jaffna. After winning the toss, the St. John’s College skipper chose to bat first and posted 163 runs as Theiventhira Dinoshon top score dwith an unbeaten 74 runs. In reply, the lads from Wattala were in deep trouble, losing 7 wickets for 94 runs.

Brief scores

St. John’s College – 163 (49.2) Theiventhira Dinoshon 74*, Christy Pirasanna 31, Aveesha Dulanjana 4/33, Pathum Vihanga 3/51

St. Anthony’s College – 94/7 (41.5) Vishal Silva 22, Joel Pinto 20, Mufin Abinash 3/24

Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala vs Dharmaraja College, Kandy  

The traditional fixture between Maliyadeva College and Dharmaraja College ended in a draw today at the Maliyadeva College Grounds. Maduranga Naveen was the star performer of the match as he took a match bag of 10 wickets for 77 runs for Maliyadeva College.

Muditha and Vidath shine as Maliyadeva take honors 

Brief scores

Maliyadeva College – 153 (43) Brian Karunanayake 84, Supun Sumanarathne 26, Upendra Warnakulasuriya 5/32, Thushan Bandara 2/33 & 138 (48.4) Brian Karunanayake 36, Supun Sumanarathne 21, Mudhitha Premadasa 21, Sahan Siriwardana 4/39, Upendra Warnakulasuriya 3/60

Dharmaraja College – 176 (55.3) Yasitha Samararathne 36, Dhanuka Marasinghe 24, Sachintha Senanayake 22, Maduranga Naveen 5/59, Gayantha Wikramarachchi 2/18 & 92/9 (33) Sachintha Senanayake 22, Maduranga Naveen 5/18, Nikila Darmadasa 4/43

Result – Match Drawn