Home Cricket National Cricket All-round Aussies too good for Sri Lanka

All-round Aussies too good for Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Women’s tour of Australia 2019 | 1st ODI

Cricket Australia

Australia put on another near-perfect performance at the Allan Border Field, Brisbane against the visiting Sri Lankans, to register a comfortable 157-run win in the 1st Women’s Championship ODI between the sides.

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first, looking to continue their form from the T20Is, where they made 500+ runs over 3 games. Alyssa Healy, centurion from the 3rd T20I, was dismissed early on by Achni Kulasuriya but there was no respite for the visitors as Rachel Haynes and skipper Meg Lanning put on 126 runs for the 2nd wicket before the latter was dismissed for 73.

Read: Sri Lanka concede whitewash after Healy’s record ton

Despite the Aussies scoring at a good rate, Sri Lanka did manage to keep picking up wickets, ensuring that the hosts could not go past the 300-run mark. Beth Mooney continued from where she left off in the T20Is, making a half century to take Australia to 281.

Left-armer Udeshika Prabodini was the pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka, picking up 2/46 in 9 overs. Skipper Shashikala Siriwardene was also economical, picking up the wicket of Haynes.

Atapattu smashes first T20I century for Sri Lanka Women

Sri Lanka skipper Chamari Atapattu bludgeoned her way to the country’s 1st ton in Women’s T20Is….

Sri Lanka’s chase did not start off well, with Anushka Meegama once again bowled, beaten for pace. Meegama had been dismissed in similar fashion in the T20Is too, her lack of experience against genuine quick bowling showing. Aussie star Ellyse Perry, who has not had much of a role to play on tour so far, was the one to make the breakthrough for the hosts.

Harshitha Samarawickrama impressed, but once again was unable to kick on from the start she got and once Jess Jonassen sent Chamari Atapattu back to the pavilion, the game was all but done.

Read More: Sri Lanka no match for rampant Aussies

Siriwardene continued to fight, but the Australians kept picking up wickets and ultimately restricted the visitors to 124 in 41.3 overs. The hosts’ bowlers were all economical, with Tayla Vlaeminck, Jonessen and Ash Gardner picking up 2 wickets each.

Meg Lanning was named Player of the Match for her imperious knock.

The teams will face off once again at the same venue on Monday, 7th October.


Srilanka Women
124/10 (41.3)
Australia Women
281/8 (50)
Rachael Haynes c Anushka Sanjeewani b Shashikala Siriwardene56763273.68
Alyssa Healy c & b Achini Kulasuriya8810100.00
Meg Lanning c Dilani Manodara b Oshadi Ranasinghe7366120110.61
Ellyse Perry run out ()1923192382.61
Beth Mooney st Anushka Sanjeewani b Inoka Ranaweera66687097.06
Ashleigh Gardner c Shashikala Siriwardene b Udeshika Prabodhani7101070.00
Nicola Carey c Anushka Sanjeewani b Oshadi Ranasinghe19220086.36
Jess Jonassen c Harshitha Madavi b Udeshika Prabodhani790077.78
Georgia Wareham not out191820105.56
Megan Schutt not out00000.00
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 6, pen 0)
Total281/8 (50 Overs, RR: 5.62)
Fall of Wickets 1-12 (3.3) Alyssa Healy, 2-138 (24.1) Meg Lanning, 3-146 (25.4) Rachael Haynes, 4-188 (34.5) Ellyse Perry, 5-203 (37.6) Ashleigh Gardner, 6-247 (44.3) Beth Mooney, 7-255 (45.5) Nicola Carey, 8-274 (49.2) Jess Jonassen,
Udeshika Prabodhani904625.11
Achini Kulasuriya905416.00
Oshadi Ranasinghe1006726.70
Inoka Ranaweera904615.11
Harshitha Madavi1010010.00
Chamari Athapaththu201306.50
Shashikala Siriwardene1004414.40

Chamari Athapaththu c Beth Mooney b Jess Jonassen13321040.62
Anushka Sanjeewani b Ellyse Perry01000.00
Harshitha Madavi c Alyssa Healy b Tayla Vlaeminck22254088.00
Hansima Karunarathne run out (Alyssa Healy)17422040.48
Dilani Manodara lbw b Jess Jonassen14331042.42
Shashikala Siriwardene c Ellyse Perry b Ashleigh Gardner30513058.82
Nilakshi de Silva c Alyssa Healy b Georgia Wareham8301026.67
Oshadi Ranasinghe run out (Alyssa Healy)230066.67
Udeshika Prabodhani not out016000.00
Achini Kulasuriya b Ashleigh Gardner1100010.00
Inoka Ranaweera c Rachael Haynes b Tayla Vlaeminck170014.29
Extras16 (b 1 , lb 4 , nb 1, w 10, pen 0)
Total124/10 (41.3 Overs, RR: 2.99)
Fall of Wickets 1-3 (0.6) Anushka Sanjeewani, 2-35 (6.6) Harshitha Madavi, 3-46 (11.6) Chamari Athapaththu, 4-64 (19.2) Hansima Karunarathne, 5-89 (26.2) Dilani Manodara, 6-110 (33.5) Nilakshi de Silva, 7-117 (35.4) Oshadi Ranasinghe, 8-117 (36.2) Shashikala Siriwardene, 9-119 (38.5) Achini Kulasuriya, 10-124 (41.3) Inoka Ranaweera,
Ellyse Perry301314.33
Megan Schutt301806.00
Tayla Vlaeminck7.331421.92
Jess Jonassen821722.12
Ashleigh Gardner94921.00
Georgia Wareham813614.50
Nicola Carey301204.00