Sri Lanka put up one of their worst batting performances on day two to be bundled out for 135 in their first innings against India in Pallekelle.

Hardik Pandya smashed a blitzkrieg maiden century, 108 off 96 balls with 8 fours and 7 sixes to take India to 487 before the Indian bowlers led by Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav wrapped up the Lankan innings inside two sessions to take a 352-run first innings lead and enforce the follow-on.

>> Visit the Sri Lanka vs India Hub <<

The hosts then lost Upul Tharanga in their second innings before close of play when he chopped one onto the stumps off Umesh Yadav to end on 19 for 1 with 333 runs behind.

Earlier, resuming on 329 for 6, left-arm seamer Vishwa Fernando removed Wriddhiman Saha as early as the 2nd over of the morning when he guided a toothless delivery straight to gully.

Kuldeep Yadav joined Pandya and managed to frustrate the hosts with a fine, risk-free 62-run stand for the 8th wicket before the former nicked behind off Sandakan. Kuldeep reviewed the decision but the replays clearly showed the deviation.

Mohammed Shami gave a return catch to Sandakan to give his 4th wicket before Pandya started to go wild and brutal in Pallekelle against the inexperienced Lankan bowling attack.

Pandya reached his fifty in 61 balls but blitzed to his next 50 runs in 25 balls before falling for Lakshan Sandakan in the 3rd ball after lunch. Sandakan was the most impressive bowler for Sri Lanka as he captured his maiden five-wicket haul, ending on 5 for 132.

He smashed 26 runs in the 116th over bowled by Malinda Pushpakumara smashing the ball cleanly down the ground for 3 sixes and 2 fours in the over to change the momentum of the match. It’s the highest an Indian batsman scored off a single over in Test cricket and the most conceded by a Sri Lankan bowler.

The visitors struck early when Mohammad Shami edged out both the openers Upul Tharanga and Dimuth Karunarathne. Tharanga prodded outside off and nicked behind, wasted a review while Karunaratne was set up perfectly by Shami around the wickets to induce the edge.

From 23 for 2, Chandimal and Kusal Mendis had the task of resurrecting Sri Lanka but Mendis paid the price for ball watching when he was caught short by Kuldeep’s throw after Chandimal had signaled for his partner to rush back when Ashwin threw himself to stop a flick, his throw missed the stumps but Kuldeep’s throw was accurate.

Pandya trapped Angelo Mathews plumb in front for a duck with a ball which nipped back off the deck. Niroshan Dickwella played a few beautiful sweep shots but came down the track, got deceived by Kuldeep’s googly and got stumped.

Dilruwan Perera found Pandya at deep mid-wicket when he slapped a short delivery of Kuldeep. Chandimal played a gritty 48 but was undone by Ravichandran Ashwin down the leg side as the Indian spinners cleaned up the tail in no time.

India - BattingToss: India 
TotalExtras (24)487 (122.3 overs)
Shikhar Dhawanc Chandimal b Pushpakumara119 (123)
KL Rahulc Karunarathne b Pushpakumara85 (135)
Chesteshwar Pujarac Mathews b Sandakan8 (33)
Virat Kohlic Karunarathne b Sandakan42 (84)
Ajinkya Rahaneb Pushpakumara17 (48)
Ravinchandran Ashwinc Dickwella b Fernando31 (75)
Wriddhiman Sahac Perera b Fernando16 (43)
Hardik Pandyac Perera b Sandakan108 (96)
Kuldeep Yadavc Dickwella b Sandakan26 (73)
Mohammed Shamic & b Sandakan8 (130
Umesh YadavNot Out3 (14)

Sri Lanka - BowlingOMRW
Vishwa Fernando263872
Lahiru Kumara2311040
Dimuth Karunaratne70300
Dilruwan Perera81360
Lakshan Sandakan35.341325
Malinda Pushpakumara232823

Sri Lanka - BattingToss: India 
TotalExtras (11)135 (37.4 overs)
Dimuth Karunarathnec Saha b Shami4 (15)
Upul Tharangac Saha b Shami5 (5)
Kusal MendisRun Out (Ashwin/Kuldeep)18 (19)
Dinesh Chandimalc Rahul b Ashwin48 (87)
Angelo MathewsLBW b Pandya0 (3)
Niroshan Dickwellast Saha b Kuldeep29 (31)
Dilruwan Pererac Pandya b Kuldeep0 (4)
Malinda Pushpakumarab Kuldeep10 (27)
Lakshan Sandakanc Dhawan b Ashwin10 (24)
Vishwa Fernandob Kuldeep0 (10)
Lahiru KumaraNot Out0 (1)

India - BowlingOMRW
Mohammed Shami6.51172
Umesh Yadav3.10230
Hardik Pandya61281
Kuldeep Yadav132404
Ravichandran Ashwin8.42222

Sri Lanka - BattingToss: India 
TotalExtras (3)181 (F/O) (74.3 overs)
Dimuth Karunarathnec Rahane b Ashwin16 (48)
Upul Tharangab Umesh Yadav07 (31)
Malinda Pushpakumarac Saha b Shami01 (32)
Kusal MendisLBW b Shami12 (21)
Dinesh Chandimalc Pujara b Kuldeep Yadav36 (89)
Angelo MathewsLBW b Ashwin35 (96)
Niroshan Dickwellac Rahane b Umesh Yadav41 (52)
Dilruwan Pererac Pandya b Ashwin8 (23)
Lakshan Sandakanc Saha b Shami8 (24)
Vishwa FernandoNot Out4 (17)
Lahiru Kumarab Ashwin10 (15)

India - BowlingOMRW
Mohammed Shami156323
Ravichandran Ashwin28.36684
Umesh Yadav135212
Kuldeep Yadav174561
Hardik Pandya1020