Sri Lankan batsmen spoil Herath’s farewell

Sri Lanka vs England 2018 - 1st Test


The English spinners ran through the brittle Sri Lankan batting order to win the 1st Test at Galle by 211 runs. Rangana Herath, playing his last Test, was the last man to fall, bringing a disappointing end to his farewell test.

Jennings marathon knock set Sri Lanka 462 to win

Day three of the 1st Test belonged to Keaton Jennings..

The opening pair for Sri Lanka, Dimuth Karunaratne and Kaushal Silva resumed Sri Lanka’s mammoth run-chase from their overnight score of 15/0. The duo went on to bat 15 more overs, batting out the 1st hour of the 4th day.

Batting cautiously, they added 51 runs for the 1st wicket with the help of Ben Stokes who dropped Karunaratne in the 20th over when the batsman was on 16.

Kaushal Silva, who batted with determination, seemed to have lost his concentration when he tried to lap sweep a Jack Leach delivery and was trapped plumb in front. He also wasted a review trying to challenge the umpire’s decision.

Karunaratne soon threw away his wicket, trying to loft an Ali delivery over the bowler, only succeeding in hitting it straight back to the bowler. Kusal Mendis then played some delightful shots, pairing up with Dhananjaya de Silva to take Sri Lanka’s score from 59/2 to 98.

Photos Album – Sri Lanka Vs. England | 1st Test – Day 4

During the 39-run 3rd wicket partnership between De Silva and Mendis, Mendis strokes 3 boundaries while De Silva hit one six. In the last over before lunch, De Silva was dismissed by Stokes as he bowled a perfect delivery just outside the off stump angling into the stumps which De Silva edged to Joe Root at slip. It was a disappointing loss as Dhananjaya de Silva had reviewed the previous delivery successfully when he was given out caught behind chasing a wide delivery.

Mendis carrying forward from where he stopped before lunch, hit 3 more boundaries and a six in the 2nd session. After he reached 45 runs he threw his wicket away, a common scene throughout the Sri Lankan batting effort, for a well-made 45. Jack Leach, pumped up by Mendis’ dismissal produced a beauty to get rid of Sri Lankan skipper Dinesh Chandimal for just 1 run.

Sri Lanka’s only successful batsman in the match, Angelo Mathews scored his second half century in the match as he put on 36 runs with Niroshan Dickwella before Dickwella was dismissed by Ali right after tea. Angelo Mathews during his fifty was given a chance when James Anderson dropped him at mid-wicket on 18.

An incredible journey’ – tributes pour in for Herath

Former teammates, admirers, opponents … everyone has a..

Following Dickwella’s dismissal Mathews (57) too was dismissed. The delivery off Moeen Ali’s arm gripped in the pitch and made Mathews check his shot which gave Buttler the chance to take an easy catch at mid-wicket.

After that Dilruwan Perera and Suranga Lakmal showed some resistance as they scored 30 and 14 respectively. Dilruwan hit 3 boundaries and a six while Lakmal hit a six and a boundary.

Herath was given put caught behind on the very first ball he faced, only for the decision to be reversed after the Herath challenged the umpire’s decision successfully.

After adding 11 runs to increase Sri Lanka’s score to 250 the duo was involved in a run-out which ended Herath’s 19-year long career officially. Incidentally in his very first International inning also he was out run-out.

England won the match by 211 runs while Moeen Ali and Jack Leach starred with 4 and 3 wickets respectively for the tourists.

The 2nd Test will commence on the 14th of November at Pallekele.


Full Scorecard


342/10 & 322/6

(93 overs)


Sri Lanka

203/10 & 250/10

(85.1 overs)

England ‘s 1st Innings

Rory Burns c N Dickwella b S Lakmal912
Keaton Jennings b D Perera4653
Moeen Ali b S Lakmal01
Joe Root b R Herath3546
Ben Stokes b D Perera719
Jos Butler c N Dickwella b D Perera3872
Ben Foakes c D De Silva b S Lakmal107202
Sam Curran c D Chandimal b A Dananjaya48104
Adil Rashid c D De Silva b D Perera3538
Jack Leach c D De Silva b D Perera1531
James Anderson not out04
2 (b 1, lb 1)
342/10 (97 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-10 (R Burns, 2.3 ov), 2-10 (M Ali, 2.4 ov), 3-72 (J Root, 16.1 ov), 4-98 (K Jennings, 21.1 ov), 5-103 (B Stokes, 23.3 ov), 6-164 (J Butler, 43.6 ov), 7-252 (S Curran, 77.2 ov), 8-306 (A Rashid, 87.4 ov), 9-330 (J Leach, 95.2 ov), 10-342 (B Foakes, 96.6 ov)
Suranga Lakmal185733 4.06
Dilruwan Perera316755 2.42
Akila Dananjaya202961 4.80
Rangana Herath254781 3.12
Dhananjaya de Silva30180 6.00

Sri Lanka’s 1st Innings

Dimuth Karunarathne c B Foakes b J Anderson42
Kaushal Silva lbw by S Curran16
Dhananjaya de Silva b M Ali1447
Kusal Mendis c B Stokes b J Leach1932
Angelo Mathews c K Jennings b M Ali52122
Dinesh Chandimal st B Foakes b A Rashid3372
Niroshan Dickwella c J Butler b M Ali2839
Dilruwan Perera c J Butler b J Leach2149
Akila Dananjaya c B Foakes b M Ali03
Suranga Lakmal c J Anderson b A Rashid1520
Rangana Herath not out1416
2 (lb 2)
203/10 (68 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-4 (D Karunarathne, 0.2 ov), 2-10 (K Silva, 3.3 ov), 3-34 (K Mendis, 13.2 ov), 4-40 (De Silva, 16.3 ov), 5-115 (D Chandimal, 43.2 ov), 6-136 (A Mathews, 49.3 ov), 7-171 (N Dickwella, 59.6 ov), 8-173 (A Dananjaya, 61.3 ov), 9-175 (D Perera, 62.6 ov), 10-203 (S Lakmal, 67.6 ov)
James Anderson100261 2.60
Sam Curran61161 2.67
Jack Leach182412 2.28
Moeen Ali214664 3.14
Adil Rashid91302 3.33
Ben Stokes40220 5.50

England ‘s 2nd Innings

Rory Burns (runout) D Karunarathne2365
Keaton Jennings not out146280
Moeen Ali c R Herath b D Perera311
Joe Root c N Dickwella b R Herath319
Ben Stokes b D Perera6293
Jos Butler c K Silva b R Herath3558
Ben Foakes c K Mendis b A Dananjaya3734
Sam Curran not out00
13 (b 4, lb 7, nb 2)
322/6 (93 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-60 (R Burns, 22.6 ov), 2-67 (M Ali, 26.3 ov), 3-74 (J Root, 31.3 ov), 4-181 (B Stokes, 60.5 ov), 5-258 (J Butler, 83.1 ov), 6-319 (B Foakes, 92.5 ov)
Dilruwan Perera303942 3.13
Suranga Lakmal92300 3.33
Rangana Herath231592 2.57
Akila Dananjaya18.52871 4.70
Dhananjaya de Silva12.12410 3.39

Sri Lanka’s 2nd Innings

Dimuth Karunarathne c & b M Ali2686
Kaushal Silva lbw by J Leach3059
Dhananjaya de Silva c J Root b B Stokes2144
Kusal Mendis c M Ali b J Leach4577
Angelo Mathews c J Butler b M Ali5392
Dinesh Chandimal b J Leach111
Niroshan Dickwella c B Stokes b M Ali1632
Dilruwan Perera c B Stokes b A Rashid3049
Akila Dananjaya c B Stokes b M Ali818
Suranga Lakmal not out1425
Rangana Herath (runout) B Stokes518
1 (b 1)
250/10 (85.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-51 (K Silva, 22.3 ov), 2-59 (D Karunarathne, 25.2 ov), 3-98 (De Silva, 37.2 ov), 4-144 (K Mendis, 50.5 ov), 5-154 (D Chandimal, 54.4 ov), 6-190 (N Dickwella, 66.1 ov), 7-197 (A Mathews, 68.4 ov), 8-229 (A Dananjaya, 76.6 ov), 9-239 (D Perera, 79.3 ov), 10-250 (R Herath, 85.1 ov)
Sam Curran51150 3.00
James Anderson122270 2.25
Moeen Ali202714 3.55
Adil Rashid18.10591 3.26
Jack Leach211603 2.86
Ben Stokes82161 2.00
Joe Root1010 1.00