Home Cricket Rohail Nazir stars as Pakistan U19s take 1-2 lead

Rohail Nazir stars as Pakistan U19s take 1-2 lead

Pakistan U19 Tour of Sri Lanka 2019 | 3rd Youth ODI


Right arm seamer Akhtar Shah’s 4-wicket haul with the ball and skipper Rohail Nazir’s half-ton with the bat helped Pakistan U19 defeat Sri Lanka U19 in the 3rd Youth ODI between the two sides, which was worked off today at the Mahinda Rajapakshe International Cricket Stadium in Hambanthota.

Read: Pakistan U19 beat SL in a last over thriller

Pakistan U19 skipper won the toss and invited the hosts to take first lease of the wicket. The left handed duo Kamil Mishara and Navod Paranavithana opened the innings for Sri Lanka U19 but they could not provide a good start to the innings as the latter was dismissed for just 2 runs in the very first over.

The number three batsman Mohammed Shamaaz lasted only two balls as he was for 0, putting the hosts in trouble at 2 for 2. Skipper Nipun Dananjaya then joined Mishara at the crease and tried to rescue the innings, building a valuable 48-run partnership for the third wicket.

After the dismissal of Dananjaya (17), the left handed batsman Sonal Dinusha built another valuable partnership of 60 runs with Mishara for the fourth wicket, before being dismissed after scoring 32 runs off 65 balls with 2 fours. The Sri Lankan hero with the bat in the last game, Avishka Tharindu, joined Mishara in the middle and built another 46-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

Photos: Sri Lanka U19 vs Pakistan U19 | 3rd Youth ODI

After Mishara’s dismissal, the Sri Lanka batsmen collapsed and were eventually bowled out for 183 runs in 48.3 overs. After being 156 for 4, the hosts lost the remaining 6 wickets for just 27 runs. The left handed stroke maker Kamil Mishara was the top scorer for Sri Lanka U19 as he made 73 runs off 117 balls which came at a strike rate of 62.39 including 5 fours.  

Right arm seamer Akhtar Shah was the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan U19 as he grabbed 4 wickets for 19 runs in 9.3 overs. In addition, left arm spinner Mohammad Junaid picked up 2 scalps for 38 runs in his allotted 10 overs.

Chasing a modest total of 184 runs to win, Pakistan U19s got off to a poor start as both the openers were sent back to the dressing room by left arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka within 4.1 overs. However, the skipper Rohail Nazir held his nerve and guided Pakistan U19 to the victory in 46 overs.

Nazir who played a counterattacking knock of 87 runs in the last game, stroked another match winning knock of 76 runs off 114 balls at a strike rate of 66.67 including 6 fours. In addition, Qasim Akram (26), Mohammad Taha (25) and Mohammad Haris (25) chipped in with useful contributions with the bat for the Pakistan U19s.

Dilshan Madushanka from Wijayaba National School and left arm spinner Rohan Sanjaya from Tissa Central College tried their best with the ball to defend the modest total of 183 runs as they grabbed 2 wickets each for Sri Lanka U19.

With this win, Pakistan U19 takes the lead in the 5 match ODI series 1-2 and will play the fourth match against Sri Lanka U19 on the 2nd of June at the same venue.

Stay logged onto ThePapare.com to get the latest updates, scores, reports and photos on all the matches of Pakistan U19 tour of Sri Lanka.


Sri Lanka U19
183/10 (48.3)
Pakistan U19
184/5 (46)
Navod Paranavithana c Qasim Akram b Akhtar Shah2200100.00
Kamil Mishara c Rohail Nazir b Mohammad Junaid731165062.93
Mohammed Shamaz b Akhtar Shah02000.00
Nipun Dananjaya c Abbas Afridi b Shiraz Khan17350048.57
Sonal Dinusha c Saim Ayub b Mohammad Junaid32652049.23
Avishka Tharindu  run out (Shiraz Khan)26411063.41
Sandun Mendis run out (Saim Ayub)02000.00
Rohan Sanjaya run out (Mohammad Taha)01000.00
Ashain Daniel c Rohail Nazir b Akhtar Shah490044.44
Naveen Fernando c Mohammad Taha b Akhtar Shah10110090.91
Dilshan Madusanka not out380037.50
Extras16 (b 1 , lb 1 , nb 2, w 12)
Total183/10 (48.3 Overs, RR: 3.77)
Fall of Wickets 1-2 (0.2) Navod Paranavithana, 2-2 (0.4) Mohammed Shamaz, 3-50 (16.3) Nipun Dananjaya, 4-110 (32.2) Sonal Dinusha, 5-156 (41.2) Kamil Mishara, 6-156 (41.4) Sandun Mendis, 7-158 (42.1) Rohan Sanjaya, 8-168 (44.4) Ashain Daniel, 9-176 (46.2) Avishka Tharindu , 10-183 (48.3) Naveen Fernando,
Akhtar Shah9.311942.04
Niaz Khan914304.78
Shiraz Khan602203.67
Abbas Afridi602814.67
Saim Ayub702503.57
Mohammad Junaid1003823.80
Mohammad Taha10606.00

Saim Ayub c Kamil Mishara b Dilshan Madusanka8101080.00
Haider Ali lbw b Dilshan Madusanka9132069.23
Rohail Nazir st Kamil Mishara b Ashain Daniel761166065.52
Mohammad Taha b Rohan Sanjaya25423059.52
Qasim Akram c Kamil Mishara b Rohan Sanjaya26441059.09
Mohammad Haris not out25382065.79
Mohammad Junaid not out11132084.62
Extras4 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 4)
Total184/5 (46 Overs, RR: 4)
Fall of Wickets 1-14 (2.3) Saim Ayub, 2-20 (4.5) Haider Ali, 3-61 (18.1) Mohammad Taha, 4-121 (32.1) Qasim Akram, 5-169 (43.1) Rohail Nazir,
Dilshan Madusanka904324.78
Naveen Fernando611702.83
Rohan Sanjaya1004624.60
Ashain Daniel1003913.90
Sandun Mendis702904.14
Navod Paranavithana401002.50