Home Cricket Pakistan U19 beat SL in a last over thriller

Pakistan U19 beat SL in a last over thriller

Pakistan U19 tour of Sri Lanka 2019 | 2nd Youth ODI


A counter attacking knock of 87 by skipper Rohail Nazir made sure Pakistan U19 beat Sri Lanka by just 3 wickets in the penultimate delivery of the 2nd Youth ODI which was played at the Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota today (28).

Photos: Sri Lanka U19 Vs. Pakistan U19 | 2nd Youth ODI

Sri Lanka U19 captain won the toss and decided to bat first again after the win in the first Youth ODI where Pakistan batting line-up crumbled spectacularly after being 3 for 179 to 208 all-out, chasing 234.

Unfortunately, the top runs scorers in the previous game, Navod Paranavithana, Mohommed Shamaz and vice-captain Kamil Mishara had to depart early today, without getting into double figures. The horror start didn’t end there for Sri Lanka as captain Perera, Sonal Dinusha and Dilum Sudeera were too outdone by young Pakistani pacers as Sri Lanka was stuttering at 6/69 in the 18th over.

From there on, an exciting rebuilding work was done by two genuine all-rounders, Avishka Tharindu from St. Anthony’s College, Wattala and Chamindu Wijesinghe from Nalanda College. The pair batted with authority and sense of calm, putting up a vital partnership of 74 runs before Wijesinghe was caught at fine leg by Akthar Shah off Junaid Khan’s bowling.

Openers, Spinners and fielding help Sri Lanka U19 win first Youth ODI

A stellar display of disciplined bowling and fielding followed by a good batting effort helped Sri Lanka U19…

Being the high scorer of the innings, Tharindu crafted a well deserving half century to put the pendulum back at Sri Lanka including five muscled boundaries at the huge MRICS ground. After a 78-ball vigil, Tharindu miscalculated the field and pulled one off Mohammad Taha to square leg, only to find the fielder when Sri Lanka was 153.

There was still a lot to be done and as the situation demanded, Rohan Sanjaya and Ashen Daniel combined in the middle to keep the fielders busy, manufacturing a 67-runs partnership for the 9th wicket in 10.3 overs, showing the batting depth of this young batting unit.

Sanjaya and Daniel pulled back Sri Lanka to the safety, ending the innings at 220-8 in the full quota of 50 overs, producing valuable knock of 45 and 20 respectively.

Pakistan openers couldn’t get to a great start as Saim Ayub was bowled for 7 runs by Dilshan Madushanka. Last match’s only half centurion for Pakistan, Haider Ali again made a valuable 56 runs with 6 boundaries. Ali and skipper Rohail Nazir made things look easy at the middle, rotating the strike very well while finding the odd boundary.

Nazir handled the spin challenge well, getting to the pitch of the ball and attacking spinners so that home spinners had to adjust their length regularly. He almost took his team over the line before getting out, edging to the keeper when the score was 193.

Though the target wasn’t so steep, Sri Lankan spinners kept pegging away, keeping the equation tight as possible but couldn’t take the final three wickets. Pakistan lower got to the target in the 599th ball of the match. Visitors needed 8 runs in the last over, but few mishaps by Sri Lanka fielders made the life easy for Pakistan.

The pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka once again, was Dilum Sudeera who bowled his 10 overs just for 35 runs, picking up 2 wickets.

The series is now tied with 1-1 and the 3rd match will be held on 31st of May at the same venue.

>>For More Cricket News<<


Sri Lanka U19
220/8 (50)
Pakistan U19
221/7 (49.5)
Navod Paranavithana b Akhtar Shah05000.00
Kamil Mishara run out (Khayyam Khan)9111081.82
Mohammed Shamaz c Rohail Nazir b Akhtar Shah8171047.06
Nipun Dananjaya c Saim Ayub b Mohammad Junaid15282053.57
Sonal Dinusha c Mohammad Junaid b Saim Ayub8141057.14
Avishka Tharindu  c Khayyam Khan b Mohammad Taha54805067.50
Dilum Sudeera lbw b Mohammad Wasim7120058.33
Chamindu Wijesinghe c Akhtar Shah b Mohammad Junaid28540051.85
Rohan Sanjaya not out45594076.27
Ashain Daniel not out20250080.00
Extras26 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 3, w 15)
Total220/8 (50 Overs, RR: 4.4)
Fall of Wickets 1-0 (0.5) Navod Paranavithana, 2-18 (4.2) Mohammed Shamaz, 3-32 (7.1) Kamil Mishara, 4-45 (10.6) Sonal Dinusha, 5-52 (12.6) Nipun Dananjaya, 6-69 (17.3) Dilum Sudeera, 7-143 (33.5) Chamindu Wijesinghe, 8-151 (39.3) Avishka Tharindu ,
Akhtar Shah713224.57
Abbas Afridi603906.50
Mohammad Wasim1002512.50
Saim Ayub201517.50
Mohammad Junaid1003923.90
Suleman Shafqat502605.20
Mohammad Taha1003613.60

Saim Ayub b Dilshan Madusanka7170041.18
Haider Ali lbw b Navod Paranavithana56606093.33
Rohail Nazir c Kamil Mishara b Dilshan Madusanka87987088.78
Mohammad Taha c Sonal Dinusha b Navod Paranavithana7190036.84
Mohammad Haris st Kamil Mishara b Rohan Sanjaya340075.00
Khayyam Khan c & b Dilum Sudeera5120041.67
Mohammad Junaid c Chamindu Wijesinghe b Dilum Sudeera30640046.88
Abbas Afridi not out16210076.19
Mohammad Wasim not out340075.00
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 4)
Total221/7 (49.5 Overs, RR: 4.43)
Fall of Wickets 1-33 (6.3) Saim Ayub, 2-93 (18.1) Haider Ali, 3-105 (22.4) Mohammad Taha, 4-108 (23.3) Mohammad Haris, 5-131 (28.1) Khayyam Khan, 6-193 (43.4) Rohail Nazir, 7-212 (48.3) Mohammad Junaid,
Dilshan Madusanka802723.38
Chamindu Wijesinghe201809.00
Ashain Daniel1004004.00
Dilum Sudeera1003523.50
Rohan Sanjaya1004714.70
Navod Paranavithana9.505125.37