India U19 registered another easy win to clinch the 5-match Youth ODI series 3-2. The visitors won the 5th and last match by 8 wickets today at the De Soysa Stadium, Moratuwa.

A few of the Sri Lankan players who were released for G.C.E A/L Exams for the 4th Youth ODI returned to the squad for this all important game, which resulted in Sri Lanka making 5 changes to their playing XI.

Nishan MadushkaKamil Mishara
Nuwanidu FernandoMuditha Lakshan
Pasindu SooriyabandaraNavodya Vijayakumara
Lakshitha ManasingheNipun Malinga
Kalana PereraRuvin Peiris

India hit back strongly to set up exciting decider

India U19 put on a brilliant team effort to level the 5-match series 2-2, winning the must-win 4th Youth ODI today…

India U19 made 2 changes as they brought in Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ajaydev Goud for Atharva Taide and Akash Pandey.

The toss was won by home skipper Nipun Dananjaya who elected to bat first. Sri Lanka got off to a good start with the re-paired Navod Paranavithana and Nishan Madushka putting on a 32-run opening partnership before Paranavithana was caught behind for 17.

Skipper Nipun Dananjaya batting at number 3, was unfortunately run-out for a duck. Then the two boys from Moratuwa, Nishan and Nuwanidu Fernando added 101 runs in 21 overs for the 3rd wicket. The two right-handers went on to score half-centuries.

The 3rd wicket fell when Nuwanidu missed a straight ball from left-arm spinner Harsh Tyagi trying to sweep him and was cleaned bowled for 56. Following his wicket, Pasindu Sooriyabandara added 37 runs for the 4th wicket together with Nishan, being the only other batsman apart from the half-centurions to reach double figures.

Sooriyabandara was dismissed for 20 by left-arm spinner Siddharth Desai when Sri Lanka were on 171. Then onwards Sri Lanka lost 5 wickets for just 39 runs in 12.2 overs.

Nishan Madushka was unfortunately adjudged LBW for 95 when the 8th wicket fell in the 49th over, and Sri Lanka finished on 212 for 9 at the end of the allotted 50 overs. Left-arm pacer Mohit Jangra picked up 2 wickets.

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Devdutt Padikkal started the Indian run-chase superbly. The opening pair scored 71 runs for a first wicket partnership in 15.5 overs. Half-centurion in the previous game Padikkal was bowled by off-spinner Avishka Lakshan for 38.

At the other end Jaiswal looked unstoppable and in superb form putting on 72 for the 2nd wicket with Pavan Shah, who scored 36 runs before he was dismissed.

The 3rd wicket partnership remained unbeaten on 71 as the visitors reached the required target. Yashasvi Jaiswal was the hero for the Indians as he completed a magnificent century. The Indian skipper Aryan Juyal (22*) was the other unbeaten batsman.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka U19


(50 overs)


India U19


(42.4 overs)

India U19 won by 8 wickets

Sri Lanka U19’s Innings

Navod Paranavitana c A.Juyal b A.Goud1725
Nishan Madushka lbw by M.Jangra95137
Nipun Dananjaya (runout) S.Chowdary01
Nuwanindu Fernando b H.Tyagi5668
Pasindu Sooriyabandara lbw by S.Desai2027
Sonal Dinusha b A.Badoni26
Sandun Mendis c A.Juyal b S.Chowdary38
Lakshitha Manasinghe c & b M.Jangra418
Kalana Perera not out47
Shashika Dulshan (runout) Y.Rathod13
Avishka Lakshan not out22
8 (b 1, lb 3, nb 1, w 3)
212/9 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-32 (ND Paranavithana, 7.3 ov), 2-33 (ND Perera, 7.3 ov), 3-134 (MNK Fernando, 28.3 ov), 4-171 (P Sooriyabandara, 37.2 ov), 5-174 (GS Dinusha, 38.4 ov), 6-181 (ST Mendis, 41.3 ov), 7-197 (LR Manasinghe, 46.2 ov), 8-207 (KNM Fernando, 48.5 ov), 9-210 (PWS Dulshan, 49.4 ov)
Mohit Jangra70302 4.29
Ajay Dev Goud60291 4.83
Siddarth Desai100331 3.30
Harsh Tyagi100431 4.30
Ayush Badoni101361 3.60
Yashasvi Jaiswal20170 8.50
Sameer Choudary50201 4.00

India U19’s Innings

Yashasvi Jaiswal not out114128
Devdutt Paddikal b A.Lakshan3848
Pawan Shah c N.Fernando b L.Manasinghe3645
Aryan Juyal not out2235
4 (lb 2, w 2)
214/2 (42.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-71 (D Padikkal, 15.5 ov), 2-143 (P Shah, 29.3 ov)
Kalana Perera50380 7.60
Lakshitha Manasinghe100371 3.70
Sandun Mendis70350 5.00
Shashika Dulshan100480 4.80
Avishka Lakshan6.40381 5.94
Navod Paranavithana40160 4.00