A contingent of 16 Girls and Boys will depart the island for Malaysia on Monday the 19th of September in line with the 23rd Asian Junior Individual Squash Championships 2016. The World Junior Circuit Tier 2 event will take place at the National Squash Center in Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia from the 20th to the 24th of September 2016.

Asia Juniors Squash Championship

Sri Lanka will be eyeing silverware in this upcoming Asian Championships as they field in the key junior squash player for the national contingent. The former Commonwealth Youth Games and Asian Youth Games bronze medalist Mihiliya Methsarani will be a key prospect for Sri Lanka taking to consideration that this will be her final junior circuit championship.

The players will compete in four age groups, Under 13, Under 15, Under 17 and Under 19 in a knockout draw due to the tournament being an individual accreditation tournament and the best will make it to the finals. Amongst the other picks for the team are junior national seed Fathoum Issadeen of Holy Family Convent, Visakhian Wasundara Suwaris and Kiara Guruge of Ladies College.

Veteran coach L. Cooray will coach the team and Nisanga Mayadunne will be the manager for the team.

 Senior Teams 

Under 19 Boys

  • Senidu Induwara
  • Indeera Wijayapura
  • Abhishek Rambukpotha

Under 19 Girls

  • Mihiliya Methsarani
  • Fathoum Issadeen
  • Sanduni Gunawardena
  • Wasundara Suwaris

Under 17 Boys

  • Heshan Balasuriya
  • Tuwin Nilakshana
  • Raveen Nanayakkara

Under 17 Girls

  • Kasuni Gunawardena
  • Kiara Guruge
  • Malshi Rajapakse
  • Nishel Silva

Cover photo personnel:

Seated from left to right: N.W.P.K.D. Perera (Assistant Team Manageress), G. Darmakeerthi (Squash project officer – Ministry of sports), M.S. Bandara (Director General – Department of Sports Development), Cdr. P. Jayawardana (Rtd) SLN (Hony. Secretary SLS), Hon. Minister of Sports D. Jayasekara MP, S. Premadasa (President SLS), N. Mayadunne (Team Manageress), Wanniarachchi (Team Lady Chaperon), L. Cooray (Team Coach)

First row left to right: H.Y.Abeysundera, A.O.Perera, D.C.P.Gallage, S.R.Deen, M.R.Rajapaksha, S.S.Khombange, H.K.M.Gunawardane, H.S.P. Gunawardane, K.M.Guruge, N.A.T.De Silva, Y.V.Kuruppu, K.A.M.Methsarani, T.H.W. Suwaris, F.F.Z.N. Issadeen, S.D.Siriwardena, V.S.C.Sinaly.   

Second row left to right: A.V. Athapaththu, S. Jayatilleke, V.I.Salgado, D.Perera, N.S.M.Hakeem, N.S.K.Phalawattage, P.G.S.I.Dharmathilaka, H.D.Balasuriya, I.R.S.Wijayapura, A.U.Rambukpotha, D.M.Perera, H.M.T.O.Nilakshana, K.A.D.J.R.Nanayakkara, M.I.F.Assmone, D.H.T.Randina, E.A.N.Lakman.