Pramod Maduwantha hits 2nd double century

Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League - Tier A Super Eights


Four matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League – Tier A Super Eights continued around the island today (09).


Chathuranga De Silva’s all-round efforts led NCC’s fight-back, but they were still left with a lot to do in their encounter against CCC who are in line to win the tournament.

De Silva’s four wicket haul restricted CCC to 427 all-out after they resumed day three on 322/3, before NCC raced to 243/4 in just 48.3 over at the end of .the day’s play.

It was Sri Lanka cap de Silva who smashed an unbeaten century once again, while Pathum Nissanka and Lahiru Udara made fluent half centuries to put NCC 227 runs ahead with six wickets in hand.

Nondescripts Cricket Club 411 (104.3) : Mahela Udawatta 162, Pathum Nissanka 119, Lahiru Udara 35, Chaturanga de Silva 25, Wanidu Hasaranga 4/63 Ashan Priyanjan 2/52, Lahiru Madushanka 2/52  & 243/4 (48.3) : Chaturanga De Silva 114*, Pathum Nissanka 70, Lahiru Udara 50, Wanindu Hasaranga 3/61 


Colombo Cricket Club 427 (98.3) : Ron Chandraguptha 118, Minod Bhanuka 104, Ashan Priyanjan 51, Wanindu Hasaranga 40, Lasith Abeyratne 26, Madawa Warnapura 20, Chaturanga de Silva 4/103, Asitha Fernando 2/65

Colts vs Army 

Colts took control of their encounter against Army SC, after the soldiers were shot out for 168 in reply to Colts’ daunting first innings total of 574/9 declared.

Priyamal Perera does a double double-hundred

The only positive thing for Army was their second innings effort with the bat and the return to form of the discarded Sri Lanka all-rounder Asela Gunaratne.

Gunaratne remained unbeaten on 86* as Army reached 210/3 at stumps after being asked to follow-on.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club 574/9d (148) : Dhananjaya Lakshan 141, Priyamal Perera 127, Vishad Randika 106, Avishka Fernando 75, Nisala Tharaka 55, Jehan Daniel 29, Asela Gunaratne 2/40, Nuwan Liyanapathirana 2/67, Buddika Madushanka 2/91, Danushika Bandara 2/124 


Army Cricket Club 168 (48.5) : Himasha Liyanage 46, Danusika Bandara 26, Nalin Priyadarshana 4/32, Nisala Tharaka 3/43, Jehan Daniel 2/33  & F/O 210/3 (48) Asela Gunaratne 86*, Himasha Liyanage 48*, Dushan Vimukthi 40, Kaweesh Kumara 23

SSC vs Chilaw Marians 

SSC’s push for an outright win in their title race against CCC was taken to the fourth and final day as they finished day 3, 8 wickets away from a stunning outright victory.

Kavindu Kulasekara, Dasun Shanaka and Nipun Dananjaya hit half centuries for SSC, as they set Chilaw Marians a target of 366 for an outright victory.

Sagar Paresh was among the wickets once again as he captured nine wickets in the match while Pulina Tharanga ended with six in the match for the Marians.

Chasing 366 for victory, Chilaw Marians ended the day on 57/2 with Sachithra Senanayake picking up both wickets to fall.

Sinhalese Sports Club 374 (101) : Sachithra Senanayake 89, Sammu Ashan 79, Akash Senarathna 56, Nipun Dananjaya 46, Dasun Shanaka 34, Himesh Ramanayake 22, Sagar Paresh 4/138, Pulina Tharanga 3/58  & 265/9d (69) Kavindu Kulasekara 71, Dasun Shanaka 68, Nipun Dananjaya 61, Tharindu Ratnayake 27*, Sagar Paresh 5/107, Pulina Tharanga 3/42 


Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 274 (73.3) : Thikshila de Silva 72, Pulina Tharanga 51, Nimesh Vimukthi 40, Irosh Fernando 30*, Risith Upamal 29, Sachithra Senanayake 6/73  & 57/2 (16) Yashodha Lanka 26, Sachithra Senanayake 2/19

Tamil Union vs Saracens 

Pramod Maduwantha’s second double century of the season helped Saracens rack up 574/9 in reply to Tamil Union’s 330 all-out.

Nipun Karunanayake also made a solid 149 as Sri Lanka’s retired legend Rangana Herath toiled hard to capture two wickets.

Pramod Maduwantha double century lifts Saracens to 524

Ramith Rambukwella’s right arm off spin yielded the best results for Tamil Union, as he went on to capture 4/96.

Ashen Bandara and Andy Solomans also made half centuries for Saracens who are already 244 runs ahead.

Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club 330 (101.4) : Manoj Sarathchandra 68, Sithara Gimhan 52, Tharanga Paranavitana 50, Kamindu Mendis 41, Ramith Rambukwella 40, Sachithra Serasinghe 34, Saliya Saman 3/40, Gamindu Kanishka 3/74 


Saracens Sports Club 574/9 (166.4) : Promod Maduwantha 212, Nipun Karunanayake 149, Ashen Bandara 94, Andy Solomans 77, Ramith Rambukwella 4/96, Rangana Herath 2/73