Sri Lankan top-order thwart English bowlers

England tour of Sri Lanka 2018 – 1st 2 Day Warm-up – Day 1 Report


Sri Lanka Board XI declared their first innings for a massive 392/9 at stumps today at the NCC grounds in Colombo. The 1st warm-up for the England test team against the Sri Lanka Board XI will conclude tomorrow.

Lahiru Thirimanne, leading the Sri Lanka Board XI, won the toss and elected to bat first. He partnered with Kaushal Silva in opening the batting and put on an unbeaten partnership of 99 runs batting the whole first session.

Read: Big names included in Sri Lanka Board XI squads against England

Kaushal Silva, having being named in the Test squad after almost a year, warmed up nicely for the 1st Test starting on the 6th of November at Galle, scoring 62 runs in 82 balls including 9 boundaries. The gritty right-hander didn’t come out to bat in the 2nd session as Sadeera Samarawickrama came out with Thirimanne after lunch.

Photo Album – Sri Lanka Board XI vs England | 1st Practice Match – Day 01

World number 1 Test bowler, James Anderson, took the first wicket for England dismissing Thirimanne who had scored 45 runs in 120 deliveries. Angelo Mathews who came at No.4 together with Sadeera Samarawickrama, added 65 runs for the 3rd wicket, before Samarawickrama was made to retire on 58. The elegant right-hander stroked 11 boundaries in his 66-ball inning.

Read: Sri Lanka ODI and Test squads named for England series

Angelo Mathews, who was dropped from the Sri Lankan limited overs set-up, scored a 38-ball 45 runs with 5 boundaries and 2 sixes. Mathews was dismissed by Moeen Ali edging a catch to Joe Denly. Mathews blamed for his low strike-rate in batting, finished his inning with an impressive strike-rate for a 2-day match, 118.42.

Charith Asalanka and Kamindu Mendis, who batted at 5 and 6, failed to compile big scores as they were dismissed by Chris Woakes and Ali for 8 and 11 respectively.

Ashan Priyanjan scored an eye-opening 86-ball 50 batting at 7, grabbing the chance given to him with both hands.

Roshen Silva who failed to continue his impressive form from Bangladesh against South Africa few months ago, couldn’t go past 11 runs as Adil Rashid dismissed him.

Read: Rory Burns and Joe Denly named in England Test squad for Sri Lanka tour

Batting at 9 and 10, Manoj Sarathchandra and Pathum Nissanka, added 67 runs for the 9th wicket increasing Sri Lanka’s score to 392 at stumps. Both the recognized top-order batsmen frustrated the English bowlers towards the end of the day as Sarathchandra scored the 4th half-century of the day for Sri Lanka. He scored 59 runs off 56 deliveries including 7 fours and 1 six.

Leg-spinner Joe Denly dismissed Pathum Nissanka who was on 29 to end the day, which the Sri Lankan batsmen dominated. With a very good score already on the board the inning was declared after Nissanka’s dismissal. Sri Lanka ended the day on 392/9d.

The English batsmen will start their 1st inning tomorrow trailing by 392 runs.


Full Scorecard

SL board XI

392/9 & 0/0

(0 overs)



365/7 & 0/0

(0 overs)

SL board XI’s 1st Innings

Lahiru Thirimanne c B Stokes b J Anderson45120
Kaushal Silva not out6282
Sadeera Samarawickrama not out5866
Angelo Mathews c J Denly b M Ali4538
Charith Asalanka c O Pope b C Woakes88
Kamindu Mendis c J Denly b M Ali1120
Ashan Priyanjan not out5086
Roshen Silva c M Ali b A Rashid1122
Manoj Sarathchandra not out5956
Pathum Nissanka lbw by J Denly2944
14 (b 6, lb 3, nb 3, w 2)
392/9 (89.5 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-99 (K Silva, 28.6 ov), 2-139 (L Thirimanne, 38.2 ov), 3-204 (S Samarawickrama, 48.3 ov), 4-214 (C Asalanka, 49.6 ov), 5-227 (A Mathews, 53.3 ov), 6-242 (K Mendis, 57.5 ov), 7-280 (R Silva, 68.2 ov), 8-325 (A Priyanjan, 76.6 ov), 9-392 (P Nissanka, 89.5 ov)
James Anderson123371 3.08
Stuart Broad113430 3.91
Sam Curran80330 4.13
Moeen Ali172642 3.76
Chris Woakes80401 5.00
Adil Rashid191821 4.32
Joe Root61360 6.00
Joe Denly8.50481 5.65

England ‘s 1st Innings

Rory Burns (runout) S Samarawickrama4779
Keaton Jennings b S Madushanka1334
Joe Denly b L Kumara2552
Joe Root not out100117
Ben Stokes c A Mathews b N Peiris3150
Jos Butler c A Mathews b N Peiris4456
Moeen Ali c M Sarathchandra b N Peiris6075
Ollie Pope not out1841
Ben Foakes not out1638
11 (b 8, lb 1, nb 1, w 1)
365/7 (90 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-38 (K Jennings, 13.1 ov), 2-77 (R Burns, 24 ov), 3-112 (J Denly, 32.2 ov), 4-220 (J Butler, 55.2 ov), 5-273 (J Root, 63.3 ov), 6-321 (B Stokes, 74.6 ov), 7-332 (M Ali, 76.6 ov)
Lahiru Kumara111421 3.82
Kasun Rajitha101440 4.40
Nishan Peiris2631083 4.15
Shehan Madushanka70231 3.29
Jeffrey Vandersay221890 4.05
Kamindu Mendis90390 4.33
Charith Asalanka51110 2.20