Sri Lanka ‘A’ almost win warm-up against Ireland Wolves


The 2-day warm-up match between the touring Ireland ‘A’ team and the Sri Lankan ‘A’ team led by Hashan Dumindu came to an end today at the Marians Cricket Ground in Katunayake with the hosts taking major honours.

The home team out-batted the tourists today after they had restricted them for 159 runs on day 1. The Lankan dominance was instated from ball 1 as opener Sandun Weerakkody began the day with a boundary off Joshua Little’s first delivery of the very first over of the day.

Read : Sri Lanka U19 squad announced for Australia series

Sri Lanka national cap, Weerakkody together with Captain Hashan Dumindu put up an opening partnership worth 141 runs in 27.3 overs. Left-hander Sandun Weerakkody scored with a strike-rate above 100 as he stroked the helpless Irish bowlers to all parts of the ground.

The partnership came to an end as Irish skipper Harry Tector’s off-spin dismissed Weerakkody just 7 runs short of a century. Weerakkody needed just 86 balls for his quick 93 which included 12 boundaries and a six. Following Weerakkody’s dismissal Sri Lanka’s bright young prospect Hasitha Boyagoda was given out LBW 2 balls later. Boyagoda’s 2-ball inning was also ended by Tector.

Oshadha Fernando playing in his own club ground scored 34 runs adding 66 runs with captain Dumindu for the 3rd wicket. Following Oshada’s dismissal courtesy Jonathan Garth, Hashan Dumindu retired from batting. Dumindu had faced 121 deliveries for his 74 with 10 boundaries and a six.

Schoolboy Nuwanidu Fernando and Army-man Dushan Vimukthi scored 35 and 27 respectively before they too retired from batting paving the way to the following batsmen to have a knock. Ashen Bandara, who is having a wonderful season with Saracens remained unbeaten on 31 when the hosts decided to declare their inning.

Read More : Ireland Wolves’ warm-up spoiled by Sri Lanka ‘A’ bowlers

The declaration came soon after vice-captain Hashen Ramanayake was dismissed for 10 runs by Garth. Sri Lanka ‘A’ had scored 313 runs in 68.1 overs losing just 4 wickets.

With the opportunity of gaining more batting practice before the 1st unofficial Test on the 5th of this month, the Irish batsmen started their 2nd essay. Once again it was a flop for the visitors as they lost 2 early wickets in the first 4 overs.

Schoolboy left-arm fast bowler Kalana Perera and SSC left-arm fast bowler Akthab Cader sharing the new ball took the first two wickets leaving Ireland 11/2 at the end of the first 4 overs. Opener James McCollum then tried to resurrect his team’s innings adding 29 runs for the 3rd wicket together with captain Tector. Dushan Vimukthi then stepped up to break the partnership by dismissing Tector for 8 runs.

Photos: Sri Lanka A Team vs Ireland A Team | Warm-up Match | Day 2

The final wicket of the day was taken by schoolboy off-spinner Kalhara Senaratne who bowled McCollum for 31 runs. Aaron Gillespie and Locran Tucker remained unbeaten as play stopped with Ireland’s score on 60/4 batting for 24 overs.

Ireland ‘A’ will now face Sri Lanka ‘A’ led by Ashan Priyanjan at SSC Grounds for the 1st unofficial Test starting on the 5th of this month.  


Full Scorecard

Ireland A

159/10 & 60/4

(24 overs)


Sri Lanka A

313/7 & 0/0

(0 overs)

Match Drawn

Ireland A’s 1st Innings

S Doheny lbw by Ramanayake1039
JA McCollum lbw by Senarathne2438
JNK Shannon b Ramanayake37
H Tector lbw by Kaushal2629
L Tucker b Kaushal47119
N Rock c Bhanuka b Kaushal17
A Gillespie b Theekshana2351
BJ McCarthy c Fernando b Theekshana03
JJ Garth lbw by Theekshana06
J Little c Fernando b Bandara07
MR Adair not out1319
12 (b 7, lb 2, nb 3)
159/10 (53.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-41 (JA McCollum, 11.1 ov), 2-43 (S Doheny, 12.4 ov), 3-44 (JNK Shannon, 14.1 ov), 4-83 (H Tector, 24.5 ov), 5-85 (N Rock, 26.5 ov), 6-140 (A Gillespie, 43.3 ov), 7-140 (BJ McCarthy, 43.6 ov), 8-140 (JJ Garth, 45.6 ov), 9-141 (J Little, 48.2 ov), 10-159 (L Tucker, 53.3 ov)
Akthab Cader41100 2.50
Kalana Perera51260 5.20
Hashen Ramanayake61112 1.83
Akash Senarathne112241 2.18
Tharindu Kaushal8.32283 3.37
Kalhara Senarathne62130 2.17
Dushan Vimukthi40190 4.75
Mahesh Theekshana6393 1.50
Ashen Bandara31111 3.67

Sri Lanka A’s 1st Innings

Sandun Weerakkody b H Tector9386
Hashan Dumindu not out74121
Hasitha Boyagoda lbw by H Tector02
Oshada Fernando c Tucker b Garth3443
Nuwanidu Fernando not out3547
Dushan Vimukthi not out2755
Ashen Bandara not out3134
Hashen Ramanayake c Tucker b Garth1026
9 (b 1, lb 2, nb 5, w 1)
313/7 (68.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-141 (DS Weerakkody, 27.3 ov), 2-141 (H Boyagoda, 27.5 ov), 3-207 (BOP Fernando, 40.3 ov), 4-209 (H Dumindu, 42.6 ov), 5-266 (MNK Fernando, 55.6 ov), 6-289 (KDV Vimukthi, 61.6 ov), 7-313 (H Ramanayake, 68.1 ov)
Joshua Little82330 4.13
Barry McCarthy61270 4.50
James Cameron-Dow223780 3.55
Mark Adair60420 7.00
Jonathan Garth15.11722 4.77
Harry Tector110582 5.27

Ireland A’s 2nd Innings

JA McCollum b K Senarathne3149
S Doheny c M Bhanuka b K Perera26
N Rock b A Cader02
H Tector c H Dumindu b D Vimukthi828
A Gillespie not out1125
L Tucker not out635
2 (lb 1, nb 1)
60/4 (24 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-6 (S Doheny, 2.5 ov), 2-11 (N Rock, 3.6 ov), 3-40 (H Tector, 12.5 ov), 4-44 (JA McCollum, 15.1 ov)
Kalana Perera40161 4.00
Akthab Cader30131 4.33
Mahesh Theekshana5190 1.80
Dushan Vimukthi5091 1.80
Kalhara Senarathne5191 1.80
Ashen Bandara2030 1.50

Sri Lanka A’s 2nd Innings

0/0 (0 overs)
Fall of Wickets: