Pramod’s 10-wicket haul overtakes Lakshan’s all-round brilliance

SLC Major Emerging Tournament 2019/20

3 games of the SLC Major Emerging Tournament 2019/20 came to an end today, 17th October, while one game got underway. 

Suminda Lakshan of Air Force SC once again stood out in this week’s fixtures with an excellent performance with both bat and ball. Air Force SC played Saracens SC at Bandaragama where Saracens SC won the toss and chose to bat first. 

They posted 251 runs for the first-innings in which Ashen Bandara top-scored with 84 runs. Pramod Maduwantha scored 43 runs with the bat up front but the best of his performance came with the ball in hand.

Lakshan was brilliant with the ball as he bagged 7 wickets which he followed up with a lone fight for 78 runs. 

Pramod Maduwantha kicked into the game late as he picked 4 wickets in the first-innings and added another thrilling 6 more for just 6 runs in the second-innings. The game ended in a draw as the upset Maduwantha staged wasn’t enough to wrap up the Airmen. They were 40 for 7 at close of play.

Lasith Croospulle century boosts Chilaw Marians

Police SC and Ragama CC also ended their game in a draw after a heavy bashing for Police SC. Batting first, the officers were undone for 123 runs in the first-innings to which Ragama boys replied with a massive 278 runs for the loss of 8 wickets and declared. Off spinner Nishan Peiris recorded a fifer for Ragama CC while Asith Sheron of Police SC too registered a five-wicket haul. Police SC were on 103 for 6 when the umpires decided to pull the curtains on the game.

BRC and SSC started their game today with BRC being inserted to bat first. BRC scored 191 runs for the first-innings and SSC ended the day on 36 for 1.

The group ‘B’ game between Colombo Colts CC and Colombo Cricket Club was called off without a toss due to wet ground conditions which prevailed on both days.

Brief scores

Saracens Sports Club vs Air Force Sports Club 
At Bandaragama Public grounds (Toss: Saracens SC won & bat)

Saracens Sports Club 251 (57): Ashen Bandara 84, Raveen Sayer 51, Pramod Maduwantha 43, Suminda Lakshan 7/86

Air Force Sports Club 150 (67): Suminda Lakshan 78, Chanaka Devinda 5/44, Pramod Maduwantha 4/45 & F/O 40/7 (14) Pramod Maduwantha 6/06


Police Sports Club vs Ragama Cricket Club
At Police Park, Colombo (Toss: Ragama CC won & field)

Police Sports Club 123 (51.4): Muditha Heshan 27*, Nishan Peiris 5/32, Lasith Madushan 2/36 & 103/6 (33) Sandaru Nethmina 28*, Nishan Peiris 2/30

Ragama Cricket Club 278/8d (61): Sahan Peiris 72, Sanjula Bandara 63, Kanishka Uggalpaya 45, Kalhara Senarathne 34*, Asith Sheron 5/69, Nadeera Madusanka 2/53


Burgher Recreation Club vs Sinhalese Sports Club
At SSC Grounds, Colombo (Toss: SSC won & field)

Burgher Recreation Club 191 (75.1): Kalana Madushanka 37, Tharusha Nimhara 34*, Duvindu Tillakaratne 20, Asel Kulathunga 3/28, Himesh Ramanayaka 3/34, Sasith Manuranga 2/17, Sandaruwan Chinthaka 2/30

Sinhalese Sports Club 36/1 (11)


>>> Click here for more club cricket news <<<