Sharmal Dissanayake wins the Men’s Open Singles finals in the all-important Sri Lanka Nationals Tennis Championship 2018.

Also Read: Savith crowned Junior National Champion

The defending Men’s champion since 2016, Sharmal Dissanayake squared off against another veteran champion in the 2018 Nationals Finals, Dineshkanthan Thangarajah in straight sets.

The first set was a tightly contested battle as both Thangarajah and Dissanayake were searching for the break in their serves to get an early lead on. It was Dissanayake who won the chase first; Despite Thangarajah’s dragged efforts to break back, Sharmal didn’t let up.

Dissanayake went on to win the first set 7/5 rattling the former champion’s form for the second set. From the start of the second, Thangarajah seemed wobbly from all corners, losing his service games without much effort.

Also Read: Center court lit, one last time

Dissanayake capitalized on the drop, and marked his territory left and right, and in under 15 minutes, was up by 5 games to 0. Thangarajah managed a last-minute surge in his stride as he managed to hold on to the 6th game in the set on his serve but was too far gone.

Not missing the golden opportunity presented to him, DIssanayake served a fabulous game to finish off the game, set and match 7/5, 6/1. This is Sharmals’ third consecutive Men’s Open singles title at the Sri Lanka Nationals Tennis Championship.

The Women’s Championship match will commence at 02:30pm, you can watch the action LIVE on Dialog TV Channel 01, MyTv and on

>>Click here for more Tennis News<<