The SLC Super Provincial Limited Over Tournament 2017 got underway today (9th April) with two thrilling matches being played in Colombo.

Galle vs Kandy

Kandy last pair, Lahiru Madushanka and Lahiru Gamage managed to put up a stunning last wicket stand to help their team beat Galle by 1 wicket in a high-scoring game at NCC grounds.

Earlier, after being sent into bat, Galle racked up 347 runs in 50 overs. Galle opening pair of Upul Tharanga and Sadeera Samarawickrama added 111 runs for the opening stand. Captain Tharanga made 54 off 68 balls with 4 sixes while in-form Samarawickrama went onto score 109 in 103 deliveries with 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Galle middle order consisting of Dhananjaya De Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Seekkuge Prasanna and Chathuranga De Silva cracked 112 runs in the last 10 overs. Dhananjaya and Shanaka made 40 runs each while Chathuranga chipped in with a fine 31.

Photo Album: Galle vs Kandy – SLC Super Provincial

Chasing a stiff target of 348, Kandy lost three wickets for just 26 but young Hashan Dumindu managed to score a fine 76 off 89 balls with 5 fours. Charith Asalanka fresh from a brilliant Emerging Asia Cup in Bangladesh stroked 51 but they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Madushanka was joined by last man Gamage when the score was 274. The two right-handers added 75 runs for the last wicket to take Kandy over the winning line with only 3 balls left. Madushanka smashed 3 fours and 3 sixes during his unbeaten 39-ball 49 while Gamage made a 26-ball 36.

Galle – 347/7 in 50 overs: Sadeera Samarawickrama 109, Upul Tharanga 54, Dhananjaya De Silva 40, Dasun Shanaka 40, Chathuranga De Silva 31, Seekkuge Prasanna 22, Lahiru Madushanka 3/61, Lahiru Gamage 2/77.

Kandy – 349/9 in 49.3 in 29 overs.  Hashan Dumindu 76, Charith Asalanka 51, Chamara Kapugedara 44, Sachith Pathirana 28, Lahiru Madhushanka 49*, Lahiru Gamage 36*, Dhananjaya De Silva 2/14, Akila Dhananjaya 2/57, Chathuranga De Silva 2/64.

Dambulla vs Colombo

Dinesh Chandimal and Wanindu Hasaranga shined for Colombo as they tied their game against Dambulla at CCC grounds.

Colombo skipper Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and elected to bowl first. Two down batsman Lahiru Milantha made a stunning 106 in 115 balls with one six and nine fours. Harsha Cooray struck a belligerent 94 in 88 deliveries with 3 sixes and 7 fours. Cooray and Milantha added 189 runs for the 4th wicket as Dambulla posted a competitive score of 289.

Chasing 290 runs to win, Colombo lost their first 6 wickets for 104 runs as Dilruwan Perera and Asitha Fernando took 2 wickets each. Chandimal and Hasaranga constructed a stunning 172-run stand for the 7th wicket as Colombo came back strongly to tie the match. Young Hasaranga scored 84 in 70 deliveries with 11 fours to his name while Chandimal remained unbeaten on 116 from 123 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes. Needing 7 runs to win, Colombo managed only 6 runs in the last over bowled by Asitha Fernando.

Dambulla – 289/6 in 50 overs:  Lahiru Milantha 106, Harsha Cooray 94, Kusal Mendis 36, Vishwa Fernando 2/48, Thisara Perera 2/63.

Colombo – 289/7 in 50 overs: Dinesh Chandimal 116*, Shehan Jayasuriya 47, Wanindu Hasaranga 84, Dilruwan Perera 2/36, Asitha Fernando 2/59.