Rohan Sanjaya’s 10-fer guides Sri Lanka U19s to victory


Bangladesh U19s put up a spirited display in their second innings, but that wasn’t enough for them to overcome the threat of Rohan Sanjaya, who bowled Sri Lanka U19s to a series leveling win. 

Photos album: Sri Lanka U19 vs Bangladesh U19 – 1st Youth Test | Day 2

Bangladesh U19s resumed day four on 75/1 in pursuit of 351 for victory. The pitch at the MCG, which favours spinners more often than not, seemed to be playing well with Akbar Ali looking in great nick.
However Rohan Sanjaya, the left arm spinner who captured five first innings wickets, seemed to peg away for the hosts to make sure Bangladesh didn’t get too far ahead of the game.
Ashian Daniel who also captured five wickets in the first innings seemed to be less effective second time around. Sandun Mendis the other off-spinner in the line up seemed to hit his stripes as he captured three important middle order scalps.
The dismissal of Akbar Ali for 90 seemed to end Bangladesh hopes, but Mahmudul Hasan Joy’s spirited innings kept them in the hunt with the target coming down under 100 runs.
Sanjaya though had other ideas as he ran through the batsmen at the other end to end with mesmerizing figures of 5/96 to go along with his 5/17 in the first innings as Sri Lanka secured a much deserved 75 run victory to level the series.
Hasan Joy remained unbeaten on 23* as Bangladesh folded up for 275 after a fighting display. It was a morale boasting win for the hosts who fielded a team eligible for the 2020 U19 Cricket World Cup.
Sri Lanka U19s in-fact failed to chase down 137 in the opening Youth Test as they fell short by 13 runs but their spinners helped them level the series 1-1.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka U19

226/10 & 233/9

(92 overs)


Ban U19

109/10 & 276/10

(83.1 overs)

SLU19 won by 74 runs

Sri Lanka U19’s 1st Innings

Navod Paranavithana c T Hridoy b S Alam79153
Nipun Dananjaya c R Hossain b S Alam013
Kamil Mishara lbw by R Hasan5296
Mohomed Shamaz b S Alam1034
Sonal Dinusha c A Ali b M Chowdhury836
Janishka Perera c A Ali b S Alam01
Sandun Mendis c S Hossain b S Alam1026
Chaminda Wijesinghe c M Hasan b R Hossain1766
Ashan Daniel c R Hossain b M Chowdhury326
Naveen Fernando not out2064
Rohan Sanjaya b M Chowdhury1433
13 (b 6, lb 3, nb 2, w 2)
226/10 (91 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0 (N Dananjaya, 5.1 ov), 2-122 (K Mishara, 37.5 ov), 3-144 (N Paranavithana, 48.3 ov), 4-149 (M Shamaz, 50.1 ov), 5-149 (J Perera, 50.2 ov), 6-167 (S Mendis, 58.1 ov), 7-167 (S Dinusha, 60.6 ov), 8-176 (A Daniel, 68.5 ov), 9-195 (C Wijesinghe, 80.1 ov), 10-226 (N Fernando, 90.6 ov)
Mittunjoy Chowdhury256522 2.08
Sahin Alam144375 2.64
Shamim Hossain93160 1.78
Towhid Hridoy72250 3.57
Rishad Hossain152501 3.33
Rakibul Hasan216371 1.76

Ban U19’s 1st Innings

Tanzid Hasan c N Fernando b R Sanjaya5055
Sajd Hossain c K Mishara b R Sanjaya2237
Hassan Joy b A Daniel03
Towhid Hridoy b A Daniel18
Shamim Hossain lbw by A Daniel311
Akbar Ali c K Mishara b R Sanjaya116
Amite Hasan c A Daniel b R Sanjaya07
Rakibul Hasan not out1544
Mittunjoy Chowdhury lbw by A Daniel314
Rishad Hossain b A Daniel04
Sahin Alam lbw by R Sanjaya019
14 (b 8, lb 4, nb 2)
109/10 (36 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-77 (S Hossain, 11.5 ov), 2-78 (H Joy, 12.5 ov), 3-82 (T Hridoy, 14.6 ov), 4-90 (S Hossain, 18.2 ov), 5-90 (T Hasan, 19.2 ov), 6-90 (A Hasan, 21.3 ov), 7-91 (A Ali, 23.1 ov), 8-94 (M Chowdhury, 26.4 ov), 9-94 (R Hossain, 28.2 ov), 10-109 (S Alam, 35.6 ov)
Naveen Fernando30190 6.33
Chamindu Wijesinghe51220 4.40
Ashan Daniel154375 2.47
Rohan Sanjaya114175 1.55
Sandun Mendis2020 1.00

Sri Lanka U19’s 2nd Innings

Navod Paranavithana st. A Ali b T Hridoy3662
Nipun Dananjaya c T Hasan b R Hasan2328
Kamil Mishara c T Hasan b R Hasan1370
Mohomed Shamaz st. A Ali b R Hasan1484
Sonal Dinusha c T Hasan b R Hasan3798
Janishka Perera c A Hasan b S Alam024
Sandun Mendis c S Hossain b R Hasan3671
Chamindu Wijesinghe lbw by R Hasan5569
Naveen Fernando c T Hasan b R Hasan03
Ashan Daniel not out1029
Rohan Sanjaya not out116
8 (b 4, lb 1, nb 2, w 1)
233/9 (92 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-47 (N Dananjaya, 10.5 ov), 2-61 (N Paranavithana, 20.5 ov), 3-82 (K Mishara, 33.4 ov), 4-111 (M Shamaz, 48.5 ov), 5-120 (J Perera, 55.6 ov), 6-134 (S Dinusha, 56.1 ov), 7-215 (C Wijesinghe, 80.3 ov), 8-215 (N Fernando, 81.6 ov), 9-222 (S Mendis, 85.1 ov)
Sahin Alam141311 2.21
Shamim Hossain41120 3.00
Rakibul Hasan4210937 2.21
Towhid Hridoy82241 3.00
Rishad Hossain101410 4.10
Mittunjoy Chowdhury147270 1.93

Ban U19’s 2nd Innings

Tanzid Hasan lbw by R Sanjaya3748
Sajd Hossain c K Mishara b R Sanjaya3680
Towhid Hridoy c K Mishara b S Mendis1848
Amite Hasan b R Sanjaya1653
Shamim Hossain c J Perera b S Mendis1334
Akbar Ali b R Sanjaya90113
Rakibul Hasan c R Sanjaya b S Mendis47
Mrittunjoy Chowdhury c N Paranavithana b A Daniel2321
Mahmudul Joy lbw by C Wijesinghe2674
Rishad Hossain lbw by R Sanjaya019
Sahin Alam not out04
13 (b 7, nb 2, w 4)
276/10 (83.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-66 (T Hasan, 13.4 ov), 2-84 (S Hossain, 26.2 ov), 3-112 (T Hridoy, 37.2 ov), 4-122 (A Hasan, 40.4 ov), 5-128 (S Hossain, 45.4 ov), 6-144 (R Hasan, 47.5 ov), 7-174 (M Chowdhury, 53.4 ov), 8-240 (M Joy, 74.2 ov), 9-269 (R Hossain, 81.4 ov), 10-276 (A Ali, 83.1 ov)
Naveen Fernando2060 3.00
Chamindu Wijesinghe71231 3.29
Ashan Daniel246871 3.63
Rohan Sanjaya35.15965 2.74
Sandun Mendis111453 4.09
Navod Paranavithana40120 3.00