The Business Management School (BMS) Sri Lanka met the University of Central Punjab (UOCP) Pakistan in their third game of the Red Bull Inter Campus Cricket- World Finals 2016.

The Pakistani team had luck on their side as they won the toss and put Sri Lanka into bat, early on in the day. The Sri Lankans had yet another messy start as skipper Niroshan Dickwella fell short in the first over of the game.

Photo Album – BMS (SL) vs UOCP (PAK)- Red Bull Campus Cricket 2016 World Finals

Pakistan, tactically went on with the spin-pace combination from both ends of the wicket, thereby putting immense pressure on the hosts. Number three bat, Bhanuka Rajapaksha’s wicket in the third over meant the load of the team fell onto the shoulders of the veteran, Shehan Jayasuriya.

He took on the Pakistani bowlers boldly giving his team hopes of a good score. Jayasuriya went on to make his third consecutive half century scoring 53 runs. Janith Liyanage stepped into the support play role, rotating the strike as Jayasuriya went for the big shots. Liyanage scored a slow 26 off 28 balls.

The Royal-S.Thomas’ duo, Chamika Karunaratne and Madushan Ravichandrakumar scored a vital 16 and 23 runs respectively. The BMS team ended up on a total of 170 for the loss of 9 wickets at the end of the first innings. This restriction of the Sri Lankan score to less than 200 was made possible by Haider Ali, who got 4 wickets, conceding 34 runs.

Pakistan managed to chase down the Sri Lankan total with 7 balls to spare in the game. The highlights of the innings, Junaid Ali and Mohammed Mohsin made 69 and 54 runs respectively. Shehan Jayasuriya delivered with the ball as well, getting 2 wickets under his belt. Fellow Royalists, Chamika Karunaratne and Devind Pathmanathan got 1 wicket each.

The Business Management School Sri Lanka suffered their first defeat, knocking down their unbeaten record in the whole tournament. Sri Lanka currently stand at second place in Group B, with Pakistan on top.

South Africa lead Group A followed by Bangladesh in second. South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will battle it out in the semi-finals, this Saturday (10th September) down in Galle, followed by the finals on Sunday (11th September).

Brief scores:

BMS: 170/9 in 20 overs- Shehan Jayasuriya 53 (37), Janith Liyanage 26 (28), Haider Ali 4/34, Aftab Azwer 2/39

UOCP: 171/5 in 20 overs- Junaid Ali 69 (43), Mohammed Mohsin 54 (41)*, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/31, Chamika Karunaratne 1/38

University of Central Punjab Pakistan won by 5 wickets

Results of the other matches:

Loughborough University England vs University of Sydney Australia

LU: 211/4 in 20 overs- Michael Burgess 75 (38), Charlie Lowen 46 (25)*, Xavier Frawley 2/26, Dugald Holloway 1/49

UOS: 167/8 in 20 overs- Nicholas Craze 68 (50), Ben Trevor-Jones 21 (23) Basil Akram 2/25, Samuel Grant 2/29

Loughborough University won by 44 runs

University of Pretoria (UOP) South Africa vs University of Liberal Arts (UOLA) Bangladesh

UOP: 152/9 in 20 overs- Evan Jones 39 (27), Tony de Zorzi 37 (27), Anjum Ahmed 3/27, Arifur Rahman 3/30

UOLA: 153/9 in 20 overs- Avishek Mitra 50 (57), Maraj Niloy 18 (13), Thomas Kaber 2/16, Lungi Ngidi 2/16

University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh won by 1 wicket

Heriot Watt University (HWU) UAE vs Marathwada Mitramandal College of Commerce (MMCC) India

HWU: 142/7 in 20 overs- Chirag Suri 76 (62), Rohit Jamwal 26 (33), Atul Vitkar 2/28, Yash Nahar 1/32

MMCC: 119/10 in 18.5 overs- Rushabh Rathod 44 (30), Saurabh Sanklecha 34(26), Usman Munir 3/15, Muqeet Butt 3/11

Heriot Watt University UAE won by 33 runs