Ravindu and Mihiliya; Champs again!

Ravindu and Mihiliya

The 37th National Squash Championship concluded yesterday (20th December) with familiar faces taking home the Men’s and Women’s titles.

The prestigious tournament was played off with inaugural partners, Sri Lanka Army and was worked off at the indoor squash complex at the Sugathadasa Stadium, with over 80 contestants in the mix.

37th Senior Nationals Squash to commence this week

The National Squash Championship will come alive for the 37th successive occasion…

Having won the Women’s title in 2016, Mihiliya Methsarani of Sirimavo Bandaranayake Vidyalaya, faced a repeat final against Fathoum Issadeen of Holy Family Convent. The champ excelled past Issadeen with a worthy 3-0 victory with the set scores reading 11/6,11/6 and 11/10. Although the third set was a heated battle tied at 10-10, Mihiliya was able to grab the final match point to close out the tournament.

Photo Album – National Squash Tournament 2017 Day 01

Much like the Women’s final, the Men’s final was a recreation of the 2016 clash. Defending champion Ravindu Laksiri of D.S Senanayake College faced off against Shamil Wakeel in a tight 4-setter. Though close, Wakeel managed to win the first set 12/10. A recharged Laksiri came back with enough firepower to win three consecutive sets right after to take home the all-important Men’s title 10/12, 11/1, 11/5, 11/3.