Jeffrey Vandersay six-for helps SSC close in on victory


Here’s a brief roundup of the SLC Tier A Premier League Tournament 2016/17 matches which took place today

Tamil Union vs Bloomfield

Ramith Rabukwella’s 4-for helped Tamil Union bundle out Bloomfield for 115 runs on day 2 at Bloomfield grounds. The home side lost 3 wickets for just 25 runs with Charith Jayampathi striking twice with the new ball. 19-year-old Nisal Fransisco steadied the ship for the home side with 45 runs but after his dismissal, Bloomfield could not find any resistance against the bowling Rabukwella. They lasted only 37.2 overs and gave Tamil Union a lead of 199 runs in the first innings.

Early in the day, Tamil Union resumed play with 188 runs on board for the loss of 3 wickets. Tharanga Paranavithane top scored with 60 runs while skipper Kithruwan Vithanage and Dinuk Wickramanayake added 49 each which helped their team post 314 for their first innings. Sashrika Pussegolla bagged a five-for for the home side.

Tamil Union C & AC  314 (87.3) Tharanga Paranavithana 60, Manoj Sarathchandra 57, Dinuk Wickramanayaka 49*, Kithuruwan Vithanage 49, Sithara Gimhan 46, Shashrika Pussegolla 5/102, Malith de Silva 4/66

Bloomfield C & AC 115 (37.2) Nisal Francisco 45, Ramith Rambukwella 4/36, Jeevan Mendis 2/09, Charith Jayampathi 2/12

BRC vs Colts CC

BRC lost five wickets for 141 runs in the first innings of their match against Colts CC at BRC grounds today. After a good opening stand by Bhanuka Rajapaksha and Lasith Lakshan, BRC lost 3 quick wickets for just 29 runs. Skipper Harsha Vithana was unbeaten on 12 at stumps as they still trail by 219 runs with 5 wickets in hand.

Early on the day, Colts posted 360 all out after they resuming play on the second day with 228 runs on board. Sadeera Samarawickrama scored a splendid 119 but he was the first to fall in the morning. Skipper Ishan Jayarathne and Akila Dhanajaya chipped in with valuable cameos which helped the visitors reach 360 for their first innings. Veteran Dinuka Hettiarachchi was the pick of the bowlers with 6 for 115.

Colts  360 (116.3) Sadeera Samarawickrama 119, Hashan Dumindu 72, Dinuka Hettiarachchi 6/115, T N Sampath 3/89

BRC 141/5 (38.4) Lasith Lakshan 48, Bhanuka Rajapaksha 39, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/35, Akila Dhananjaya 2/47

NCC vs Galle CC

Chathuranga De Silva’s 4-for had Galle CC struggling at stumps on day two as they were still 208 runs behind with only 3 wickets in hand at NCC grounds. Most of the batsmen struggled against the likes of Chathuranga and Jehan Mubarak who bowled splendidly for the home side. Veteran Damitha Hunukumbura scored a fighting 66 and he got good support from Yashoda Lanka who scored 43 runs. At stumps on day 2, Galle CC was 162 for 7.

Early on the day, NCC resumed play with 237 on board with 3 wickets in hand. Former Peterite skipper Angelo Perera converted his overnight score of 63 into an unbeaten 139 which helped the home side post a formidable first innings total of 370 runs. Shalika Karunanayake and Roshan Jayatissa bagged 4 wickets each for the visitors.

NCC  370 (83.5) Angelo Perera 139*, Sandun Weerakkody 110, Tharindu Kaushal 43, Shalika Karunanayaka 4/74, Roshan Jayatissa 4/117

Galle CC 162/7 (58) Damitha Hunukumbura 66, Yashoda Lanka 43, Chaturanga de Silva 4/66

Ragama CC vs Colombo CC

Most of the 2nd days play was interrupted due to bad weather as Ragama posted 209 for 3 when play was called off for the day at Kaluthara. They resumed play with 124 on board for the loss of 2 wickets. Janith Liyanage was the only wicket to fall for 20 runs today. Lahiru Thirimanne and Roshen Silva remained unbeaten at the crease when play was called off for the second day.

Ragama  209/3 (74) Lahiru Milantha 64, Udara Jayasundera 50, Lahiru Thirimanne 38*, Roshen Silva 30*, Lahiru Gamage 2/48

Saracens SC vs Moors SC

Saracens dominated 2nd day’s proceedings with both bat and ball in their match against Moors SC at Moors grounds. Visitors resumed play at 179 for 3. For the remaining 7 wickets, they could only add 113 runs. With the ball for the home side, Pramod Maduwantha and Sachithra Perera bagged 3 wickets each.

Moors got off to a bad start with a wicket in the first over but a partnership of 66 between Pabasara Waduge and Primosh Perera laid a good foundation for the home side. Waduge scored 52 runs while Primosh chipped in with a valuable 36. Apart from those two batsmen the home side struggled and they were 175 for 8 at stumps still trailing by 117 runs.

Saracens SC  292 (80) Irosh Samarasooriya 85, Milinda Siriwardana 50, Harsha Cooray 35, Sachithra Perera 3/59, Promod Maduwantha 3/88

Moors SC 175/8 (54) Pabasara Waduge 52, Primosh Perera 36, Chathura Randunu 3/37, Milinda Siriwardane 2/11, Suraj Randiv 2/51

SSC vs Badureliya SC

Jeffrey Vandersay’s 6 wicket haul helped SSC close in on an outright victory in their match against Badureliya at SSC grounds. Vandersay’s figures stood at 6 for 44 which helped the home side bundle out the visitors for just 143 runs in their first innings. The lone hero with the bat for Badureliya was Shiran Rathnayake who scored 51 runs. Badureliya was asked to follow on and they were 32 for no loss at stumps, still trailing by 172 runs.

Early on in the day, SSC posted 347 all-out for their first innings. Former Anandian skipper Shammu Ashan missed a century as he was dismissed for a well-made 95. With the ball for the visitors Asanka Silva bagged 6 for 126 in 35.5 overs.

SSC 347 (92.5) Sammu Ashan 95, Charith Asalanka 66, Sachithra Senanayake 62, Kavindu Kulasekara 52, Asanka Silva 6/126

Badureliya SC 143 (38.5) Shiran Rathnayake 51, Jeffrey Vandersay 6/44 & F/O 32/0 (4)