Home Cricket Cambrians edge past St. Sebastian’s in a rain interrupted thriller

Cambrians edge past St. Sebastian’s in a rain interrupted thriller

Moratuwa Battle of the Golds - 34th One Day Encounter


The 34th annual one-day encounter between Prince of Wales’ College and St. Sebastian’s College’s was played on Sunday at De Zoysa Stadium Moratuwa and ended in favor of the Cambrians as they won the match by 5 runs (D/L method). 

>>March Madness<<

St. Sebastian’s Captain Nuwanidu Fernando won the toss and decided to bat first without any hesitation. But their opener Lahiru Fernando missed a straight Yorker from Vinuja Ranpul and was judged LBW in just the 2nd over of the innings.

His partner Nishitha Abilash, middle order batsmen Dunith Jayatunga and Bihanga Mendis too fell cheaply for 13, 16 and 16 respectively, leaving St. Sebastian’s innings on a low 94 for 4 in 24.2 overs.

Photos: St. Sebastian’s College vs Prince of Wales College – 34th Limited Overs Cricket Encounter


Then, big match hero Nuwanidu Fernando who achieved a rare feat of a century and a hat trick in the test format of the rivalry, just 24 hours ago, picked up his act from where he left off and played a superb attacking knock to take the opposition bowlers to the cleaners.

Fernando and another Sri Lanka u19 cap Janishka Perera put up a valuable 76 runs partnership for the 5th wicket to guide the Sebastianites’ inning to a respectable position. Nuwanidu who is the younger brother of Sri Lanka Test player Vishwa Fernando, made a brilliant 76 off 90 runs before getting dismissed by a stunning catch by Dinura Fernando who was fielding at point.

Big Match: Nuwanidu Fernando lights up Moratuwa with a hat-trick and century

After his senior partner’s dismissal, Janishka took the responsibility and guided the innings to 200. He made his contribution known with a well-made 54 off 68 balls.

St. Sebastian’s college reached 218 in the 50 overs on the back of 18 extras including a staggering total of 12 wides from the PWC bowlers.

Watch: Video- Prince of Wales’ College Cricket team preview 2018-19

15-year-old Vinuja Ranpul was the pick of the bowlers for PWC with 3 wickets 37 runs in 9 overs.

In reply, Cambrian pair Tharindu Amarasinghe and Omesh Mendis got off to a flying start in their reply. Omesh, the younger brother of Kusal Mendis, came all guns blazing from the first ball and quickly racked up 34 runs from 29 balls with two stylish sixes.

Watch: Video- St. Sebastians College Cricket team preview 2018-19

Pair added 54 runs to the first wicket before Mendis was deceived by a nicely flighted delivery by off-spinner Praveen Cooray to be stumped.

Amarasinghe too made a valuable 36 and after his wicket, the Cambrians’ looked in a bit of trouble. But their skipper Suwath Mendis started his innings on a totally different game plan and worked the ball into the gaps to find singles whenever he could to reduce the required target. His busy innings of 43 off 63 balls was the turning point of the match as just 5 overs after his dismissal, the rain came pouring down to Moratuwa and Cambrians were just ahead of the D/L par score at that moment thanks to the work done by their skipper.

PWC won the 34th Battle of the Golds One-Day encounter by a mere 5 runs (D/L) to end a nail-biting day at the Zoysa Stadium.



Prince of Wales’ College
169/6 (39)
St. Sebastian’s College
218/9 (50)
Nishitha Abilash b Pasindu Pathum13372035.14
Lahiru Fernando lbw b Vinuja Ranpul02000.00
Dunith Jayathunga c Naduka Fernando b Pasindu Pathum16341047.06
Nuwanidu Fernando c Dinura Fernando b Naduka Fernando76907084.44
Bihanga Mendis c Suwath Yohan Mendis b Kavinda De Mel16301053.33
Janishka Perera b Vinuja Ranpul54682179.41
Praveen Cooray c Tharindu Gimantha Amarasinghe b Vinuja Ranpul12260046.15
Tashik Perera c Suwath Yohan Mendis b Kaumal Nanayakkara5400125.00
Vinuja Ranasinghe not out7700100.00
Nadeera Fernando run out02000.00
Kalana Sandeepa not out1100100.00
Extras18 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 1, w 12)
Total218/9 (50 Overs, RR: 4.36)
Naduka Fernando803414.25
Vinuja Ranpul903834.22
Kaumal Nanayakkara1003713.70
Pasindu Pathum602724.50
Suwath Yohan Mendis704005.71
Kavinda De Mel1003813.80

Tharindu Gimantha Amarasinghe lbw b Nadeera Fernando36693052.17
Omesh Mendis st Lahiru Fernando b Praveen Cooray342942117.24
Prince Alanka Fernando run out112008.33
Vinuja Ranpul run out12291041.38
Dinura Fernando b Kalana Sandeepa19241079.17
Suwath Yohan Mendis st Lahiru Fernando b Nuwanidu Fernando43633068.25
Dewaka Ishara Peiris not out10710142.86
Kavinda De Mel not out5300166.67
Extras9 (b 4 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 4)
Total169/6 (39 Overs, RR: 4.33)
Tashik Perera302608.67
Janishka Perera612103.50
Bihanga Mendis10808.00
Praveen Cooray611512.50
Nadeera Fernando602013.33
Nuwanidu Fernando1014414.40
Vinuja Ranasinghe301505.00
Kalana Sandeepa4.221313.10