Home Cricket Sri Lanka in trouble despite Karunaratne half century

Sri Lanka in trouble despite Karunaratne half century

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand | 2nd Test – Day 2


Sri Lanka ended day 2 of their 2nd ICC Test Championship match against New Zealand struggling on 144/6, despite a half century from skipper Dimuth Karunaratne as the visitors took the upper hand at the P Sara Oval in Colombo.


The start of day 2 was delayed by 45 mins due to bad weather, with Colombo experiencing some heavy rain overnight and this morning. Karunaratne resumed on an overnight score of 49* with Angelo Mathews on the other end, yet to get off the mark.

Mathews was the 1st to go, caught behind down the leg side trying to pull a wayward delivery from Trent Boult. With the scalp, Boult went to 250 Test wickets, becoming just the 3rd New Zealander to reach the landmark. The left armer then trapped Kusal Perera right in front of the stumps for a duck in the same over as Sri Lanka slumped to 93/4.

Read: Karunaratne stands tall on rain-curtailed day

Coming into bat in a tough situation, with Boult and Colin de Grandhomme bowling well in tandem, all rounder Dhananjaya de Silva had a bit of luck as the former dropped perhaps one of the easiest catches you’ll ever see. De Silva top-edged the delivery which popped harmlessly up in the air, Boult settled under the ball but inexplicably, was unable to hold on to the sitter.

Karunaratne too had a chance off his bat missed, this time by opposition skipper Kane Williamson, albeit a far more difficult chance than that spilled by Boult. Sri Lanka’s captain was unable to capitalize on the chance however as he fell shortly after in what turned out to be another double wicket over as Tim Southee struck to remove both Karunaratne and Niroshan Dickwella caught behind by BJ Watling.

>>Photos: Sri Lanka vs New Zealand | 2nd Test – Day 2<<

De Silva and Dilruwan Perera survived an awkward 8-over period before the rain came down at the stroke of Lunch. With no play possible for the next 2 and a half hours, the umpires decided to call off play for the day; just 29.3 overs were bowled during the day.

If weather permits, play is set to commence at 9.45am tomorrow (24th).

Watch Live – New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka 2019 – 2nd Test Match


Sri Lanka
244/10 (90.2) & 122/10 (70.2)
New Zealand
431/6 (115)
Dimuth Karunaratne c BJ Watling b Tim Southee651656039.39
Lahiru Thirimanne c Kane Williamson b William Somerville235005.71
Kusal Mendis c BJ Watling b Colin de Grandhomme32704045.71
Angelo Mathews c BJ Watling b Trent Boult229006.90
Kusal Perera lbw b Trent Boult04000.00
Dhananjaya de Silva b Trent Boult10914816273.65
Niroshan Dickwella c BJ Watling b Tim Southee03000.00
Dilruwan Perera lbw b Ajaz Patel13541024.07
Suranga Lakmal c BJ Watling b Tim Southee10241041.67
Lasith Embuldeniya lbw b Tim Southee02000.00
Lahiru Kumara not out5110045.45
Extras6 (b 1 , lb 2 , nb 3, w 0, pen 0)
Total244/10 (90.2 Overs, RR: 2.7)
Fall of Wickets 1-29 (14.4) Lahiru Thirimanne, 2-79 (32.3) Kusal Mendis, 3-93 (41.1) Angelo Mathews, 4-93 (41.5) Kusal Perera, 5-130 (57.3) Dimuth Karunaratne, 6-130 (57.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-171 (74.5) Dilruwan Perera, 8-214 (83.5) Suranga Lakmal, 9-224 (85.1) Lasith Embuldeniya, 10-244 (90.2) Dhananjaya de Silva,
Trent Boult22.267533.38
Tim Southee2976342.17
Colin de Grandhomme1733512.06
William Somerville632013.33
Ajaz Patel1644813.00
Jeet Raval c Dhananjaya de Silva b Dilruwan Perera09000.00
Tom Latham lbw b Dilruwan Perera15425115061.35
Kane Williamson c Kusal Mendis b Lahiru Kumara20282071.43
Ross Taylor c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya23433053.49
Henry Nicholls c Dhananjaya de Silva b Dilruwan Perera15460032.61
BJ Watling not out1052264046.46
Colin de Grandhomme c Lahiru Kumara b Lasith Embuldeniya837755107.79
Tim Southee not out241022240.00
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 0, w 3, pen 0)
Total431/6 (115 Overs, RR: 3.75)
Fall of Wickets 1-1 (3.1) Jeet Raval, 2-34 (12.5) Kane Williamson, 3-84 (26.2) Ross Taylor, 4-126 (42.3) Henry Nicholls, 5-269 (85.3) Tom Latham, 6-382 (110.2) Colin de Grandhomme,
Dilruwan Perera37411433.08
Dhananjaya de Silva511002.00
Suranga Lakmal1123202.91
Lahiru Kumara25011514.60
Lasith Embuldeniya37415624.22

Lahiru Thirimanne run out (Ajaz Patel)05000.00
Kusal Perera c BJ Watling b Trent Boult03000.00
Kusal Mendis b William Somerville20633031.75
Angelo Mathews c Ross Taylor b Colin de Grandhomme7300023.33
Dhananjaya de Silva c Tim Southee b Ajaz Patel119005.26
Niroshan Dickwella c Tom Latham b Ajaz Patel511614031.68
Dimuth Karunaratne lbw b Tim Southee21702030.00
Dilruwan Perera c Ross Taylor b Tim Southee012000.00
Suranga Lakmal c Tom Latham b William Somerville14452131.11
Lasith Embuldeniya c Kane Williamson b Trent Boult5110045.45
Lahiru Kumara not out03000.00
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 1, pen 0)
Total122/10 (70.2 Overs, RR: 1.73)
Fall of Wickets 1-0 (0.5) Lahiru Thirimanne, 2-4 (2.2) Kusal Perera, 3-11 (11.3) Angelo Mathews, 4-22 (18.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 5-32 (21.5) Kusal Mendis, 6-73 (43.5) Dimuth Karunaratne, 7-75 (47.4) Dilruwan Perera, 8-115 (65.3) Suranga Lakmal, 9-118 (69.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 10-122 (70.2) Lasith Embuldeniya,

Trent Boult14.281721.20
Tim Southee1261521.25
Ajaz Patel1933121.63
Colin de Grandhomme41812.00
William Somerville2164922.33