Massive score by the Mahanama Juniors

Singer Schools U13 Division I Tournament 2018


Kavindu Amamith from Mahanama College, Colombo bulldozed the opponents by smashing a mammoth double century and 82 runs and Duvindu Ranathunga performed a one man show by taking 9 wickets for 31 runs against St. Thomas’ College, Kotte today in the Singer Schools U13 Division I Tournament at Mahanama College Grounds.

Mahanama College, Colombo vs St.Thoma’s College, Kotte

The visiting team St. Thomas’ College, Kotte won the toss and elected to bowl first. Gaining the maximum advantage of it the home team Mahanama College demolished the bowling line up of the juniors from Kotte by scoring 493 runs for the loss of 6 wickets completing 54 overs when they decided to declare their innings.

Kavindu Amamith scored the first double hundred for the U13 schools season this year by adding 282 runs under his name. In support Chamika Heenatigala scored 79 runs while Duvindu Ranathunga was 47 not out and Poojana Perera made 47 runs. Sesath Jayathilake took 3 wickets for 65 runs.

Batting their first innings STC juniors were bowled out for 76 runs in 26 overs. Mathew Soloman scored 41 runs as a lonely worrier while Duvindu Ranathunga erased the batting line up taking 9 wickets for 31 runs.

Mahanama College batted their 2nd inning for just 8 overs and scored 28 runs losing 2 wickets when the umpires called it a day.

The match ended up draw while Mahanama College, Colombo gained 1st inning points.

Mahanama College, Colombo 1st Inning 493/6d (54): Kavindu Amamith 282, Chamika Heenatigala 79, Duvindu Ranathunga 47*, Poojana Perera 47, Sesath Jayathilake 3/65 . 2nd Inning: 28/2 (8)


St. Thomas College, Kotte 76 (26): Mathew Solomans 41, Duvindu Ranathunga 9/31 


Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya vs Sri Jayawardanapura MV, Kotte

The match was played today at CMS Grounds Kotte. The home team invited the visitors from Pannipitiya to bat first and bowled them out for just 21 runs completing 25.2 overs. Biyanka Perera got 6 wickets for just 3 runs while Mihisara Vihanga got 3 wickets for only one run.

Having a very small score on board the juniors from Kotte managed to put up 116 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 30.3 overs when they decided to declare their inning. Sahan Senevirathne scored 36 runs while Biyanka Perera once again performed scoring 28 runs and Dhananjaya Madushan scored 21 runs. Bimsara Weerasinghe chipped in with 3 wickets for 30 runs.

Batting their second inning Dharmapala College scored 44 runs for the loss of 4 wickets at the end of the day’s play after 39 overs. Sahan Lethmina scored 29 runs not out and Akalanka Maleesha took 2 wickets for 06 runs.

The match ended up draw and the first innings points were gained by the Sri Jayawardanapura MV, Kotte.

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya 1st Inning 21 (25.2): Chandupa Kuruppu 11, Biyanka Perera 6/03, Mihisara Vihanga 3/01. 2nd Inning 44/4 (39): Sahan Lethmina 29*, Akalanka Maleesha 2/06


Sri Jayawardanapura Maha Vidyalaya, Kotte 116/7d (30.3): Sahan Senevirathna 36, Biyanka Perera 28, Dhananjaya Madushan 21, Bimsara Weerasinghe 3/30 


D.S Senanayake College, Colombo vs President’s College, Maharagama

A high scoring encounter in Singer Schools U13 Division I Cricket Tournament was played today at the Public Grounds, Bandaragama. The hosting team President’s College won the toss and elected to field first and bowled out their opponents for 211 runs in 47.3 overs. Imesh Adeesha from DS scored a solid unbeaten century by adding 102 runs not out under his name while Sathsika Fernando scored 61 runs.

In return President’s College Maharagama scored 182 runs for the loss of 07 wickets in 51 overs when the match officials called it a day. Vihanga Sadanjana was the top scorer for the home team with 57 runs, Maleesha Udayanga added 27 runs and DImuth Chathuranga scored 26 runs. Dilash Kumaranayake chipped in with 3 wickets for 45 runs while Imesh Adeesha took 2 wickets for 60 runs.

The match ended up draw with No Results.

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo 211 (47.3): Imesh Adeesha 102*, Sathishka Fernando 61


Presidents College, Maharagama 182/7 (51): Vihanga Sadanjana 57, Maleesha Udayanga 27, Dimuth Chathuranga 26, Dilash Kumaranayake 3/45, Imesh Adeesha 2/60