MAS Unichela secure 25th Singer-MCA Premier League crown

MAS Unichela

Four matches of the 25th Singer-MCA Premier League 2017/2018 Tournament were worked off around the Island on Saturday(30th Sep).

 MAS Unichela vs Hayleys 

MAS Unichela recorded a convincing 7 wicket win over Hayleys to defend their MCA Premier League title successfully.  

Hayleys batting first were bowled out for 126 runs as spinners Chathuranga De Silva, Duvindu Tillakeratne and TM Dilshan shared 9 wickets among them.

MAS Unichela were hardly troubled during the run chase as they reached the target in just 12 overs with brothers TM Sampath and TM Dilshan making 57 and 30 respectively.

MAS Unichela won the Premier League and the Knock Out titles last season.  

Hayleys – 126/10 (34.4 overs) Sachithra Serasinghe 33, TM Dilshan 3/17,Duvindu Tillakaratne 3/27, Chathuranga De Silva 3/28

MAS Unichela – 128/3 (12 overs) TM Sampath 57*, TM Dilshan 30, Binura Fernando 2/31) 

JKH ‘A’ vs Kanrich Finance 

Ishan Jayaratne hit an unbeaten 60 before following it up with a three wicket haul, as JKH beat Kanrich Finance by 103 runs on the D/L method.

Batting first JKH made 259/7 in 45 overs in another game affected by the rain. Bhanuka Rajapakse top scored with 74 while Jayaratne was brilliant towards the latter part of their innings with an unbeaten half century.

In reply, Kanrich were bowled out for 158 in 37.1 overs. Ishan Jayaratne and Chamikara Edirisinghe picked up 3 wickets each while Maduka Liyanapathirana picked up 2 wickets for the winners.

John Keells Holdings 259/7 (45) Bhanuka Rajapakshe 74, Ishan Jayaratne 60*, Akshu Fernando 42, Lahiru Milantha 33, Pramodh Madhushan 3/56 

Kanrich Finance 158 (37.1) Kasun Vidura 35, Alankara Asanka 23, Ishan Jayarathne 3/20, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 2/31, Chamikara Edirisinghe 3/22

Dimo vs Commercial Credit 

Commercial Credit fell short of 41 runs during their run chase as DIMO claimed an upset win over a much fancied Commercial Credit outfit.

Batting first Dimo posted a strong 294 in their 50 overs on the back of half centuries from Lasith Abeyratne and Hashen Ramanayake. 

In reply, Commercal Credit were bowled out for 253 with Jehan Mubarak top scoring with 58 while Ashan Priyanjan and Imesh Udayanga chipping in with 30’s. Kavishka Anjula, Prmod Hettiwattage and Sammu Ashan picked up 2 wickets each for Dimo.

Dimo 294 (50) Lasith Abeyrathne 72, Hashen Ramanayake 50, Thikshila de Silva 40, Ramesh Mendis 49*, Pulina Tharanga 35*, Dilshan Munaweera 3/64, Suraj Randhiv 2/33

Commercial Credit 253 (45.5)Jehan Mubarak 58, Ashan Priyanjan 38, Imesh Udayanga 34, Dilhan Cooray 29, Lahiru Madushanka 35, Suiraj Randiv 22, Kavishka Anjula 2/34, Pramodh Hettiwatthwe 2/42, Sammu Ashan 2/20

LB Finance vs HNB 

LB finance recorded a 6 wicket win over HNB in their match worked off at the FTZ grounds in Katunayake.

Batting first HNB were bowled out for 107 with Angelo Perera and Shiran Fernando sharing 5 wickets between them. 

LB Finance reached the target in just 18.5 overs losing only 4 wickets. Lahiru Udara top scored with 29 runs for the winners.

Hatton National Bank 107 (41.2)Buddhi Perera 28*, Angelo Perera 3/20, Shiran Fernano 2/08

LB Finance 108/4 (18.5)Lahiru Udara 29, Sajeewa Weerakoon 2/34

MCA “B” division 50 Over League Tournament 2017/2018

Three matches of the 01st Fair & Lovely Men – MCA “B” division 50 Over League Tournament 2017/2018 were worked off yesterday(1). 

At MCA – John Keells Holdings “B” beat Mobitel by 38 runs on the D/L Method.

John Keells Holdings ‘B’ recorded their third win in four matches when they beat Mobitel by 38 runs on the D/L method. 

JKH who were sent in by their opponents, scrambled their way to 213 all out on the back of a matured knock by youngster Kavin Bandara who made 74 while Charith Jayampathi and Lakshan Jayasinghe shared 3 wickets apiece for Mobitel.

JKH “B” – 213  (46.4) ( Kavin Bandara 74,  C. Jayampathi 3/29,  L. Jayasinghe 3/33)

Mobitel  – (Revised target : 210 runs in 45 overs )  171 (40.4) ( T. Jayasinghe 47,  L. Jayasinghe 45,  S. Jayatillake 36,  N. Thushara 5/32,  S. Dushantha 2/28,  T. Ratnayake 2/29)

At Katunayake : MAS Silueta beat Unilever by 134 runs on DLS method  (match reduced to 46 overs a side)

MAS Silueta continued to dominate the B division with their 5th win in as many games of the tournament. 

Denuwan Rajakaruna continued his good form with another half century as MAS Silueta put up 287/7 in their allotted 46 overs a game affected by rain. 

Rain interfered once again as Unilever were given a revised target of 244 to win in 35 overs before they crumbled to 109 all out with Rumesh Silva starring with the ball captuirng a five wicket haul for MAS. 

MAS Silueta – 287/7 (46)  (D. Rajakaruna 51,  S. Fernando 45,  N. Madushanka 42,  I. Samarasuriya 32,  S. Cooray 28,  A. Emmanuel 25,  A. Silva 2/25,  R. Prasad  2/29,  H. Rajendra 2/44) 

Unilever – (Revised target of 244 runs in 35 overs)  109 (27)  (M. Rajaratna 47, Rumesh Silva 5/18,  Charana Nanayakkara  4/24)

At the P. Sara Oval- Power Tech Cement beat Commercial Credit “B” by 07 wickets

Power Tech Cement also recorded their third win of the tournament when they crushed a hapless Commercial Credit ‘B’ unit by 7 wickets. 

Commercial Credit were restricted to 124 all out before Dineth Thimodaya hit an unbeaten 77* in the run chase to secure victory for Power Tech Cement. 

Commercial Credit “B” –  124(39.2)  (S. de Silva 30, N. Uththamadasa 22,   M. Madushanka 4/23, K. Bandara 2/17)

Power Tech Cement –  125/3  (13) (Dineth Thimodaya 77 not out)