Malith Mahela and Himasha Liyanage star in U23 tournament opener

Malith Mahela and Himasha Liyanage star in U23 tournament opener

Dashing Left-hander Himasha Liyanage and Left-arm spinner Malith Mahela were the top performers of the second day in the Under 23 Inter Provincial Two-day Tournament organized by SLC which was worked off today.

Western Province South vs Western Province North

Resuming day two on 58/4, in the second innings, Western Province South once again failed in the batting department as they folded for 188 inside 53 overs in their opening game played at Police Park. Madhawa Nimesh scored a fighting half-ton, while left-arm seamer Binura Fernando picked up 3 wickets to follow-up his efforts in the first innings.  Chasing 74 to win in the fourth innings Western Province North lads managed a convincing 9 wicket win.

Brief Scores

Western Province South 39 (15.2) Charana Nanayakkara 7/22, Binura Fernando 3/17 & 188 (52.1) Madhawa Nimesh 53, Sandakan Pathirana 36, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 35*, Rashmitha Opatha 20, Binura Fernando 3/14, Nuwan Thushara 2/31, Duvindu Tillakarathne 2/61.

Western Province North 155 (53.3) Sahan Arachchige 41, Salinda Ushan 25, Binura Fernando 24, Nishan Pieris 22, Mishen Silva 4/41, Sandakan Pathirana 3/54, Lakshitha Manasinghe 2/12 & 74/1 (19.3) Salinda Ushan 32*, Kaveen Bandara 27.

Result – WP North won by 9 wickets.

Southern Province vs Eastern Province  

Eastern Province started day two on 19/1 in chase of a huge 351 but were restricted to 142 by left arm spinner Malith Mahela who claimed a terrific 7 wicket haul in Hambantota. They were then forced to follow-on by Southern Province and once again lose their way as they were bundled out for 85 in the 29th over. Malith Mahela continued his heroics with the ball as he finished with a match-bag of 12 for 63 as the Southerners thrashed the Eastern lads by an innings and 123 runs.

Brief scores

Southern Province 350/5d (89) Charith Asalanka 113, Pasindu Isira 56, Ramesh Mendis 54, Sithara Gimhana 50, Adeesha Thilanchana 43*, M Sharuhan 2/69, Ramesh Nimantha 2/79.

Eastern Province 142 (43.5) Wosantha de Silva 46, Nipun Gamage 20, Malith Mahela 7/38 & F/O 85 (28.3) Nipun Gamage 22, Malith Mahela 5/25, Charith Asalanka 3/38.

Result – Southern Province won by innings & 123 runs.

Northern Province vs Western Province Central

Western Province Central, having the advantage of a strong foundation built overnight, carried on their merry way to post 400/7 in 70 overs. Left-hander Himasha Liyanage stroked a magnificent 177 to steer them to a mammoth total. Northern Province were knocked out once again for a modest 105 as former Peterite seamer Janith Liyanage finished with a match-bag of 7 for 56 to dismantle his counterparts. Western Province Central started the tournament with a resounding innings and 129 run win over Northern Province in the game which was worked off at the Moors grounds.

Northern Province 166 (49.4) Revan Kelly 39, Salith Fernando 30, Tharusha Fernando 30, Janith Liyanage 3/38, Sahan Nanayakkara 2/15, Manelkar de Silva 2/15, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/38 & 105 (29.4) Parakrama Thennakon 28*, Risith Upamal 28, Salith Fernando 24, Janith Liyanage 4/18, Anuk Fernando 3/12, Sahan Nanayakkara 2/40.

Western Province Central 400/7d (70) Himasha Liyanage 177, Manelkar de Silva 63*, Vishad Randika 58, Janith Liyanage 31, Akhil Inham 30, Risith Upamal 2/62, Sujan Meyas 2/73, Salith Fernando 2/110.

Result – Western Province Central won by innings & 129 runs.  

Central Province vs North Western Province

Resuming on 112/4 in the second innings Central Province managed only 213. Tharindu Ratnayake was impressive with a 7 -wicket match-bag as he made a huge impact for the lads from North Western. Chasing a tricky 189 to win in dusty conditions at the BRC grounds, North Western lads led By Left-hander Leo Fransisco, who made an unbeaten 104, secured a comfortable 8 wicket win to open their campaign in style.

Brief scores

Central Province 114 (33.2) Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan 36, Ron Chandraguptha 32, Tharindu Rathnayaka 4/23, Shehan Madushanka 3/41, Aravinda Akurugoda 2/12 & 213 (45.4) Dilan Jayalath 63, Raveen Sayer 40, Lahiru Samarakoon 23, Sachintha Pieris 3/30, Tharindu Rathnayaka 3/64, Shehan Madusanka 2/44.

North Western Province 139 (34.5) Minodh Banuka 72, Aravinda Akurugoda 23, Mohomed Shiraz 6/45, Pramodya Abeykoon 3/12 & 189/2 (52.3) Leo Fransisco 104*, Damith Perera 40, Sashin Dilranga 37*.

Result – North Western Province won by 8 wickets.

Watch Highlights