Sanjeewa and Croospulle guide Chilaw Marians past 400

SLC Major Emerging Tournament 2019/20

Two games were worked out today in Sri Lanka’s premier U23 Club Cricket tournament at the Marians Cricket Ground, Katunayake and SSC as both games concluded as drawn matches.

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club Vs Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

Group C fixture between Bloomfield and Chilaw Marians was concluded today at the Marians Cricket Ground, Katunayake as the hosts racked up a massive first innings score of 435 at stumps of day 02 and claimed the first innings win.

Read: Duvindu Thilakaratne’s 5-fer earns BRC 1st innings win

Bloomfield elected to bat first after winning the toss and were dismissed for 157. In reply, Dilshan Sanjeewa and Lasith Croospulle played two brilliant centuries to guide the hosts over the 400 mark as Sanjeewa was unbeaten at 132 at stumps. The game ended in a draw.

Brief Scores

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club 157 (69.3) Asela Sigera 47, Kasun Ekanayake 33, Reven Kelly 20, Naveen Gunawardhane 3/25, Kavindu Bandara 2/10, Krishan Silva 2/17 

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 435/7 (94) Dilshan Sanjeewa 132*, Lasith Crosspulle 112, Sanoj Wijethunga 53, Imesh Upamal 40, Kavindu Irosh 38, Kavindu Bandara 30, Kasun Aberaythne 2/43

Match Drawn

Sinhalese Sports Club Vs Navy Sports Club

Navy U23s won the first innings today (5th November) in the Group A contest against the Sinhalese Sports Club at SSC grounds after restricting the hosts for 5/79 yesterday after the delayed start due to rain.

For SSC, the only batsman who looked steady on the crease was Sri Lanka U19 player Ahan Wickramasinghe as he went on to make a fine half century before his team was bundled out for 126. Savindu Peiris and Kavitha Dilshan were the chief destroyers for SSC as both bowlers shared 4 wickets a-piece.

Read: Lasith Croosepulle; Letting his bat do the talking

In reply, Navy put on a total of 239 for the loss of 4 wickets at stumps. Most of the batting was done by Johanne de Silva and Salith Fernando who made 82 and 51 respectively. The game ended in a draw.

Brief Scores

Sinhalese Sports Club 126 (28.4) Ahan Wickramasinghe 68, Savindu Peiris 4/29, Kavitha Dilshan 4/36

Navy Sports Club 239/4 (66) Johanne De Silva 82, Salith Fernando 51*, Navod Samarakoon 45, Dinal Ishen 21, Himesh Ramanayake 2/36, Akash Senarathna 2/73

Match Drawn

>>For More Club Cricket News<<