Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka U19s suffer defeat in the second warm-up

Sri Lanka U19s suffer defeat in the second warm-up

 ICC Under 19 World Cup 2020 - Warm-ups

The Sri Lanka U19 team met the Pakistan U19 team today (14th January) at Irene Villagers Cricket Club in Pretoria for their second warm-up match of the ICC U19 World Cup, which will officially commence on the 17th of January, 2020. The Pakistan U19 team registered a 4-wicket victory over the Sri Lanka U19 team as they chased down the target of 216 runs in 45.2 overs.  

The Sri Lanka U19 skipper Nipun Dhananjaya (St. Joseph Vaz College) won the toss and had no hesitation to bat first, as they were very confident of defending the targets with their bowling lineup. The left-handed duo Kamil Mishara (Royal College) and Navod Paranavithana (Mahinda College) opened the innings for Sri Lanka, but could not provide a solid start as both of them were dismissed by left-arm seamer Tahir Hussain within the first 9 overs. 

Sri Lanka U19s tops South Africa in a low scoring thriller

At 36 for 2, the right-handed batsmen Mohamed Shamaz (Zahira College) and Thaveesha Abhishek (Richmond College) met at the crease and built a 33-run partnership for the third wicket. However, both Shamaz (19) and Abhishek (13) were dismissed by the 17-year old left-arm spinner Aamir Ali by the 19th over. 

When Sri Lanka was reeling at 71 for 4, the skipper Nipun Dhananjaya and all-rounder Sonal Dinusha (Mahanama College) joined at the middle and rescued the innings, building a 122-run partnership for the fifth wicket. However, Sri Lankan innings fell apart and bowed out for 215 runs in 49.3 overs after their dismissal.

Left-hander Sonal Dinusha became the top scorer for Sri Lanka as he made 68 runs off 87 balls including 7 fours. The skipper Dhananjaya stroked 55 runs off 88 balls with a four and 2 sixes. The left-arm seamer Tahir Hussain was the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan as he picked up 4 scalps for 41 runs. In addition to this, Mohammad Amir Khan, Abbas Afridi and Aamir Ali took 2 wickets each for Pakistan. 

In reply, Pakistan opening batsmen Haider Ali and Muhammad Shehzad got off to a good start, putting 61 runs on the board in 10.4 overs. However, the left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka (Wijayaba National School Hungama) struck thrice in three overs to dismiss both the openers, with the number three batsman Rohail Nazir putting pressure on the Pakistan middle order. 

Photos: Sri Lanka U19 Team Departure – ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020

However, the middle order batsmen Fahad Munir and Mohammad Haris recovered the innings nicely, adding 65 runs for the fourth wicket. Mohammad Haris ran himself out after scoring quick 43 runs off 36 balls with 5 fours. Fahad Munir (51) and Qasim Akram (29) then built another crucial 49-run partnership for the fifth wicket before the former retired out, letting the other batsmen get accustomed to the South African conditions.  

The Pakistan U19s chased down the target in 45.2 overs with 4 wickets remaining. The left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka was the pick of the bowlers for the Sri Lanka U19s as he grabbed 3 scalps for 21 runs. 

The Sri Lankan U19 team will play their first match of the ICC U19 World Cup against India on the 19th of January at Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein. Keep logged on to ThePapare.com for all the live updates, scorecards, match reports and information on this tournament. 


Sri Lanka U19
215/10 (49.3)
Pakistan U19
218/6 (45.2)
Navod Paranavithana c Haider Ali b Tahir Hussain12132092.31
Kamil Mishara c Qasim Akram b Tahir Hussain15302050.00
Mohammad Samaaz b Aamir Ali19312061.29
Thaveesha Abhishek lbw b Aamir Ali13302043.33
Nipun Dananjaya c Rohail Nazir b Mohammad Amir Khan55881262.50
Sonal Dinusha b Tahir Hussain68877078.16
Ahan Wicrkamasinghe b Mohammad Amir Khan01000.00
Chamindu Wijesinghe c & b Abbas Afridi790077.78
Ashian Daniel not out2200100.00
Kavindu Nadeeshan c Rohail Nazir b Tahir Hussain120050.00
Dilum Sudheera c Rohail Nazir b Abbas Afridi240050.00
Extras21 (b 4 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 15, pen 0)
Total215/10 (49.3 Overs, RR: 4.34)
Fall of Wickets 1-21 (4.5) Navod Paranavithana, 2-36 (8.5) Kamil Mishara, 3-69 (16.2) Thaveesha Abhishek, 4-71 (18.5) Mohammad Samaaz, 5-193 (45.2) Nipun Dananjaya, 6-193 (45.3) Ahan Wicrkamasinghe, 7-209 (47.5) Chamindu Wijesinghe, 8-210 (48.1) Sonal Dinusha, 9-212 (48.4) Kavindu Nadeeshan, 10-215 (49.3) Dilum Sudheera,
Tahir Hussain1004144.10
Mohammad Amir Khan1003823.80
Abbas Afridi8.312623.13
Aamir Ali803023.75
Qasim Akram502905.80
Fahad Munir502605.20
Mohammad Haris301906.33

Haider Ali c Kamil Mishara b Dilshan Madusanka33384186.84
Muhammad Shehzad lbw b Dilshan Madusanka24352068.57
Rohail Nazir b Dilshan Madusanka581062.50
Fahad Munir retired51865059.30
Mohammad Haris run out (Chamindu Wijesinghe)433650119.44
Qasim Akram c Dilshan Madusanka b Kavindu Nadeeshan292830103.57
Mohammad Irfan Khan not out11271040.74
Abbas Afridi not out10141071.43
Extras12 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 11, pen 0)
Total218/6 (45.2 Overs, RR: 4.81)
Fall of Wickets 1-61 (10.4) Haider Ali, 2-69 (12.3) Rohail Nazir, 3-72 (14.6) Muhammad Shehzad, 4-137 (27.3) Mohammad Haris, 5-186 (36.6) Fahad Munir, 6-199 (40.3) Qasim Akram,
Amshi De Silva402706.75
Matheesha Pathirana603405.67
Dilshan Madusanka502134.20
Chamindu Wijesinghe502004.00
Nipun Dananjaya602303.83
Sonal Dinusha402005.00
Ashian Daniel401904.75
Kavindu Nadeeshan703615.14
Dilum Sudheera401303.25
Navod Paranavithana0.204020.00