New Youngs v Super Sun in Dialog Champions League season opener

Dialog Champions League 2018


The 13th Dialog Champions League, Sri Lanka’s premier football tournament will kick-off on 21st October at 6.00pm at the Durayappah Stadium, Jaffna when New Youngs FC takes on Super Sun SC in the season opener.

This year too the tournament will be played on a league basis where the 18 clubs will play against each other once. The 17-match week tournament, which includes 4 mid-week match weeks, is expected to conclude by 27th January 2019 as per Asif Ansar, Manager Competitions, Football Federation of Sri Lanka.

Champions Red Stars deny Thihariya promotion

Red Stars FC finished the Super 6 stage of the 2017 Premier League Division I unbeaten with a 5-2 …..

From the 2017 season Police SC and Moragasmulla SC were demoted while Red Stars FC, 2017 Premier League Division I Champions, and runners up Ratnam SC were promoted to the top division.

With the implementation of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Club License Program, Navy SC and Army SC will compete as Sea Horses SC and Defenders SC respectively.

Red Stars FC: rejected but undeterred

Anura De Silva, President of the Football Federation of Sri Lanka had this to say;

“I would like to thank Dialog Axiata for the support rendered towards sponsoring the Champions League tournament  for the last 12 years. We are working towards our plan of ‘Vision 2030’ and has already made strides with the Men’s National Team where they have done well in the past couple of months.”  

Sumareh stars as Malaysia punish Sri Lanka

The 2018 edition of the Dialog Champions League will feature 153 matches, whilst over 60 match referees and 30 match commissioners will officiate at the games. A nail-biting finish in 2017 saw Colombo FC defeat Renown SC 1-0 in the title decider to win the Dialog Champions League for the 3rd consecutive time.

>>For more Football News Click Here<<