Chandraguptha, Gimhan and Asalanka tons; Shiraz 6-fer


The third round of group stage matches in the SLC U23 Inter-Provincial Two-Day Cricket Tournament 2017 started today around the island in 3 venues.

Northern Province vs Central Province

Central Province skipper Ron Chandraguptha won the toss and invited Northern lads to bat first as they got knocked out for a hapless 93 in the 26th over in gloomy conditions at BRC grounds. Right-arm seamer Mohmmed Shiraz was the chief destroyer as he claimed his 3rd five wicket haul in the tournament to dismantle the counterparts cheaply. In reply the Central lads came out all guns blazing with skipper Ron Chandraguptha once again been the star with an excellent hundred to end the opening day in favor of Central Province.

Northern Province 93 (25.4) Y Kajanath 28*, Risith Upamal 22, Mohammed Shiraz 6/40, Lahiru Samarakoon 3/22.

Central Province 282/4 (49) Ron Chandraguptha 137, Dilan Jayalath 40, Wanindu Hasaranga 34*, Nimesha Gunasinghe 26

Western Province South vs Southern Province

After been asked to bat first in Hambantota, Western Province South batters had no answers for the bowling of Adeesha Thilanchana who demolished the opponents for a below-par 117 in 41.4 overs. In response, Southern lads were in control with Left-hander Charith Asalanka and Sithira Gimhana making centuries with the willow to steer them to a commanding position at stumps.

Western Province South 117 (41.4) Minhaj Jaleel 36, Madawa Nimesh 27*, Malindu Maduranga 24, Adeesha Thilanchana 5/23, Charith Asalanka 2/29, Tilanga Udeshana 2/44

Southern Province 243/2 (45) Sithara Gimhana 101*, Charith Asalanka 100, Mishen Silva 2/39

Western Province Central vs North Central Province

North Central Province won the toss and invited the Western Province Central to take the first lease of the surface in Bloomfield grounds. Dashing right-hander Akeel Inham was the star with bat as he made a crucial knock to guide the Western Province Central lads to a decent 204 in 55.3 overs, while Sandeepa Nisansala claimed a crafty 3 wickets to restrict the strong WP Central batting line-up.  In reply North Central Province were 49/0 at close of play.

Western Province Central 204 (55.3) Akeel Inham 73, Anuk Fernando 37, Lahiru Vimukthi 30, Sandeepa Nisansala 3/09, Chandula Weerarathna 2/21, Chathuranga Abeysingha 2/32, Jagath Rajapaksha 2/45

North Central Province 49/0 (10) Deneth Hewathanthri 35*