Chamari to play in Women’s T20 Challenge 2019

Women’s T20 Challenge 2019


Captain of the Sri Lanka Women’s Cricket team, Chamari Athapaththu has been chosen to represent one of three teams in the Women’s T20 Challenge 2019 which is scheduled to be held between 6th May and 11th May at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

Women’s T20 Challenge is an initiative of BCCI as a set up for a future T20 League in India for Women (A women’s version of IPL) and this year, there will be 3 teams competing in the tournament, Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity.

BCCI confirms three-team Women’s T20 challenge

The three teams will be captained by Indian star players, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj respectively.

The tournament will have a round robin round and a final, making a total of 4 T20 matches to be held parallel to the Playoffs of IPL 2019.

Sri Lanka skipper, Chamari Athapaththu is drafted to play for the Supernovas as one of its 4 overseas players with the likes of global stars, Lea Tahutu (NZ), Natalie Sciver (Eng) & Sophie Divine (NZ).

Chamari Atapattu ton guides Sri Lanka’s record chase

When the Indian team toured the island last September (2018), Athapaththu was in good touch, racking up 205 runs in 3 WODIs & 107 runs in 5 WT20Is including a match winning hundred in the last WODI, chasing 253 runs.

After those performances, she achieved her career best rankings of 10th in the Women’s batting rankings.

This is the second edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge and last year’s competition was a solitary exhibition match between two teams with overseas players from only Australia, England and New Zealand. This year, India’s best cricketers and future stars will be joined by international players from England, New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Chamari Atapattu achieves career-best ODI ratings

Women’s T20 Challenge Squads

Supernova: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (SL), Jemima Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu(NZ), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver(ENG), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine(NZ), Taniya Bhatia, Coach: WV Raman

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (WI), Sophie Ecclestone (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Suzie Bates (NZ), Coach: Biju George

Velocity: Mithali Raj (c), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Danielle Wyatt (ENG), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (WI), Jahanara Alam (B’DESH), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy, Coach: Mamta Maben

Schedule – Women’s T20 Challenge

Supernovas v Trailblazers – 6th May

Trailblazers v Velocity – 8th MayIPL 2019

Supernovas v Velocity – 9th May

Final – 11th May

>>Women’s Cricket<<