Asanga Senevirathne Se who held office as President of the Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU) has been reappointed uncontested to another term in office.

Seneviratne was appointed as the president of Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU) in January 2012, and later he was also appointed as the honorary secretary of the Asia Rugby Union (ARU). He was a front runner for the President post at the ARU elections last November but Mr. Koji Tokumasu of Japan was elected for the said post, especially considering that the next Rugby World Cup will be hosted for the first time in Asia (Japan).

Mr. K. D. S Ruwanchandra, Director General, Department of Sports Development has appointed  following  four (04) Office Bearers and Seven (07) Council Members for the Council of the Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union 2016/2017 as there were no other nominations for the above posts.

1.       Mr. Asanga Senaviratne President
2.       Mr. Lasitha Gunaratne Vice President
3.       Mr. Nazeem Mohamed Hony. Secretary
4.       Mr. Abdul Amza Mohamed Riyaz Hony. Treasurer
5.       Mr. Fazal Mohamed Council Member
6.       Mr. Roshan Deen Council Member
7.       Mr. Tuan Dole Council Member
8.       Brg.  Sunil Ranasinghe (Retd.) Council Member
9.       Mr. Iftikar Abdul Wahid Council Member
10.     Mr. Shamrath Fernando Council Member
11.     Mr. Jude Pillai Council Member