All Island Under 14 Rugby comes alive this weekend


The All Island Schools Division I Under 14 Rugby tournament will come alive this weekend with the participation of twenty schools and will take place on the 16th & 17th September at the Royal College Sports Complex and at the Zahira College grounds.

The Under 14 Schools tournament is the primary tournament aimed at upbringing the junior age groups and is organized under the purview of the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association. The division I teams that will participate are divided into five groups and the top contenders in each group will progress towards the quarterfinals.

Although the initial plan was to accommodate all the group stage matches that were supposed to be held on the 16th at the Royal Complex, due to the increased number of matches, the organizers have made arrangements to accommodate a few games at the Zahira College grounds on Saturday.

The quarterfinals and the knock-out stages will commence on the 17th at the Royal College Sports Complex.

Royal College defeated Isipathana College 14-10 to win the title
Royal College defeated Isipathana College 14-10 to win the title

Read more about Royal’s win last year: Royal clinch Under 14 Rugby title

Last year’s defending champions of the under 14 title, Royal College are in group A along with D. S. Senanayake College, Ananda and Eheliyagoda MMV while runners up Science College are in Group B.

It will be tough competition for the Royalists this year with Science College, St. Joseph’s as well as St. Peter’s having competitive sides in their junior format.

Schedule for the matches – 9th September 2017

Groups A to E – Royal College Sports Complex

1Royal College ColomboScience College Mt LaviniaSt. Joseph’s CollegeWesley CollegeDharmaraja College
2D.S.Senanayake CollegeSt. Benedict’s CollegeVidyartha CollegeSt. Anthony’s CollegePiliyandala MMV
3Ananda CollegePrince Of Wales CollegeLalith Athulathmudali CollegeRichmond CollegePandura Royal College
4Eheliyagoda MmvCarey CollegeNalanda CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeVeluwana Vidyalaya

Groups F to H

St. Peter’s CollegeTrinity CollegeIsipathana College
Thurstan CollegeKingswood CollegeMahanama College
St. Sylvester’s CollegeSt. John’s CollegeZahira College
Sri Sumangala CollegeLumbini CollegeMoratuwa MMV

>> For Full list of Fixtures Click here