Home Cricket Pakistan keep semi-final hopes alive with thrilling win over Afghanistan

Pakistan keep semi-final hopes alive with thrilling win over Afghanistan

CWC19 | Afghanistan vs Pakistan


Imad Wasim and Wahab Riaz’s heroics wrestled victory from the jaws of defeat as Pakistan moved into the ICC Men’s World Cup top four with a nerve-jangling three-wicket win over Afghanistan in Leeds.

>>> #CWC19 HUB <<<

Sarfraz Ahmed’s men have invoked the spirt of their 1992 champions following a difficult start to the competition and entered Saturday’s clash at Headingley on the back of successive victories over South Africa and New Zealand.

But they were forced to work in the face of an exceptional Afghanistan performance, rallying from 156/6 in pursuit of 228 on the back of Imad’s unlikely intervention.

With the run-rate rising, the No. 7 stuck Gulbadin Naib’s ninth over for 18, before Wahab’s crucial maximum from off Rashid Khan helped leave Pakistan – now seven down – requiring six from the final set of six.

It proved a bridge too far for Afghanistan, who narrowly missed out on a first World Cup victory over a full-member nation as Imad’s cover-driven four ended matters with two balls remaining.

Amla, Du Plessis guide SA to victory after SL batting fails

Naib’s men, having chosen to bat, were quickly under pressure thanks to Shaheen Afridi.

The paceman went for 10 from his first three balls – including two overthrows from his own wild effort at the stumps – but was quickly smiling as Naib was given out caught behind on review, before Hashmatullah Shahidi spooned a catch to mid-off next ball.

But Afghanistan recovered thereafter, Afghan sparking the minority of fans to life with a 35-ball 42 featuring two powering sixes. The innings was undermined by the untimely losses of wickets, with Imad, Wahab and Shadab Khan each delivering timely interventions to support Afridi – who became the first teenager to claim four scalps in a Men’s World Cup contest.

Najibullah Zadran flickered towards the end by matching Afghan’s 42, but 227 seemed sub-par.

Until, at least, the first ball of the reply, Fakhar pinned in front by Mujeeb Ur Rahman. Babar, as has been the case throughout the tournament, immediately brought calm to proceedings by unfurling a glorious cover-drive to the fence.

He and Imam-ul-Haq shared 71, but Afghanistan weren’t giving up; Mohammad Nabi had the latter (36) stumped before bowling the former (45) around his legs. As tension around the ground grew palpable, the underdogs turned the screw.

Mohammad Hafeez late cut Mujeed straight to point, Rashid Khan pinned Haris in front and Sarfraz Ahmed was run out attempting a second. Yet, with a win seemingly in their sights, Afghanistan were powerless to stop Imad (49*) as he took Pakistan to a stunning success.

>>> More Cricket News <<<


230/7 (49.4)
227/9 (50)
Rahmat Shah c Babar Azam b Imad Wasim35435081.40
Gulbadin Naib c Sarfaraz Ahmed b Shaheen Shah Afridi151230125.00
Hashmatullah Shahidi c Imad Wasim b Shaheen Shah Afridi01000.00
Ikram Alikhil c Mohammad Hafeez b Imad Wasim24661036.36
 Asghar Afghan b Shadab Khan423532120.00
Mohammad Nabi c Mohammad Amir b Wahab Riaz16330048.48
Najibullah Zadran Shaheen Shah Afridi b Shaheen Shah Afridi42546077.78
Samiullah Shinwari not out19321059.38
Rashid Khan c Fakhar Zaman b Shaheen Shah Afridi8121066.67
Hamid Hassan Wahab Riaz b Wahab Riaz130033.33
Mujeeb Ur Rahman not out791077.78
Extras18 (b 8 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 10, pen 0)
Total227/9 (50 Overs, RR: 4.54)
Imad Wasim1004824.80
Mohammad Amir1014104.10
Shaheen Shah Afridi1008748.70
Mohammad Hafeez201005.00
Wahab Riaz802923.62
Fakhar Zaman1004414.40

Fakhar Zaman lbw b Mujeeb Ur Rahman02000.00
Imam-ul-Haq st Ikram Alikhil b Mohammad Nabi36514070.59
Babar Azam b Mohammad Nabi452450187.50
Mohammad Hafeez c Hashmatullah Shahidi b Mujeeb Ur Rahman19351054.29
Haris Sohail lbw b Rashid Khan27572047.37
Sarfaraz Ahmed run out ()18221081.82
Imad Wasim not out49545090.74
Shadab Khan run out ()11171064.71
Wahab Riaz not out15911166.67
Extras10 (b 1 , lb 4 , nb 0, w 5, pen 0)
Total230/7 (49.4 Overs, RR: 4.63)
Mujeeb Ur Rahman1013423.40
Hamid Hassan201306.50
Gulbadin Naib9.407307.77
Mohammad Nabi1002322.30
Rashid Khan1005015.00
Samiullah Shinwari803204.00