Ashan Priyanjan shines as Dambulla win

SLC T20 League 2018


Playing their 1st game of the tournament, the Dambulla team defeated the Kandy team by 18 runs in the second match of the SLC T20 league 2018 which was worked off today at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

Dambulla Team skipper Isuru Udana won the toss and opted to bat first under lights with the Left hand duo of Danushka Gunathilaka and Ramith Rambukwella opening the innings. The pair got them off to a flying start putting on a 44 runs for the first wicket in 4.3 over’s.

SLC T20 League 2018 squads finalized

Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera and Suranga Lakmal have been appointed to lead Colombo, Kandy, Dambulla and Galle…

Ramith Rambukwella was the first to depart when he was dismissed by off spinner Charith Asalanka for 24 runs. In the very next over, Sadeera Samarawickrama was trapped in front by left arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara for just 2 runs.

Ashan Priyanjan joined Danushka Gunathilaka when the score was 47 for 2 and built a massive 122-run partnership for the third wicket before Gunathilaka was bowled by Malinda Pushpakumara for 39 runs. Ashan Priyanjan went on to stroke a blistering knock of 108 runs off just 52 balls which included 9 fours and 6 massive sixes to guide the Dambulla team to a huge score of 202 runs for 5 wickets in the allotted 20 over’s.

Tharanga’s ton helps ‘Team Colombo’ to clinch SLC T20 Opener

The 1st game of the SLC T20 league 2018 got underway at the R. Premadasa International stadium earlier today (21st August). After…

For the Kandy Team, Malinda Pushpakumara was the pick of the bowlers picking up 2 wickets for 33 runs. On his return to domestic cricket, Lasith Malinga together with Charith Asalanka and Sachith Pathirana picked up 1 wicket a piece.

The Kandy Team chasing 203 runs to win, put on 44 for the 1st wicket thanks to Thikshila De Silva who went on to make a quick-fire 63 runs off 38 balls which included 7 fours and 4 sixes.

>>Photos: Kandy v Dambulla – SLC T20 LEAGUE – 2018<<

After the dismissals of the openers, left handed Lahiru Thirimanne was joined by skipper Dasun Shanaka, but the pair could not do much damage as Shanaka fell to leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga for 12 runs.

At 103 for 3, Lahiru Thirimanne was joined by Bhanuka Rajapaksa and put on a 42-run partnership for the fourth wicket before Rajapakse was dismissed by Lakshan Sandakan for 27 runs. Thereafter as the required run rate kept mounting  the Kandy team continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and eventually ended at 184 for 8 in the allotted 20 over’s.

Lahiru Thirimanne showed some resistance with the bat for the Kandy team scoring 43 runs off 32 balls including 3 sixes, but it was not enough to prevent Dambulla registering their first win in the tournament. Speedster Shehan Madushanka and skipper Isuru Udana impressed with the ball as they picked up 2 wickets each for Dambulla team.


Full Scorecard

Team Dambulla


(20 overs)


Team Kandy


(20 overs)

Dambulla won by 18 runs

Team Dambulla’s Innings

Danushka Gunathilaka b M Pushpakumara3943
Ramith Rambukwella c C Karunarathne b C Asalanka2415
Sadeera Samarawickrama lbw by M Pushpakumara24
Ashan Priyanjan c & b S Pathirana10852
Wanindu Hasaranga c M Pushpakumara b L Malinga24
Isuru Udana not out134
Ramesh Mendis not out00
14 (b 4, w 8, nb 2)
202/5 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-44 (Rambukwella, 4.3 ov), 2-47 (Samarawickrama, 5.2 ov), 3-169 (Gunathilaka, 17.3 ov), 4-180 (Hasaranga, 18.4 ov), 5-196 (Priyanjan, 19.5 ov)
Lasith Malinga40301 7.50
Dasun Shanaka20270 13.50
Charith Asalanka40331 8.25
Malinda Pushpakumara40332 8.25
Sachith Pathirana30381 12.67
Thikshila De Silva20260 13.00
Chamika Karunarathne10110 11.00

Team Kandy’s Innings

Thikshila De Silva c I Udana b A Priyanjan6338
Sandun Weerakkody c R Mendis b D Gunathilaka37
Lahiru Thirimanne c L Sandakan b I Udana4332
Dasun Shanaka lbw by W Hasaranga128
Bhanuka Rajapaksa c H Boyagoda b L Sandakan2718
Chamika Karunarathne c I Udana b S Madushanka23
Sachith Pathirana c L Sandakan b S Madushanka86
Charith Asalanka c W Hasaranga b I Udana155
Dhananjaya Lakshan not out23
Malinda Pushpakumara not out11
8 (w 7, nb 1)
184/8 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-44 (Weerakkody, 4.1 ov), 2-80 (De Silva, 9.3 ov), 3-103 (Shanaka, 12 ov), 4-145 (Rajapaksa, 16.3 ov), 5-158 (Thirimanne, 17.2 ov), 6-165 (Karunarathne, 18.2 ov), 7-165 (Pathirana, 18.3 ov), 8-182 (Asalanka, 19.4 ov)
Binura Fernando10140 14.00
Danushka Gunathilaka40211 5.25
Ramesh Mendis10200 20.00
Isuru Udana30292 9.67
Ashan Priyanjan20141 7.00
Lakshan Sandakan30311 10.33
Wanindu Hasaranga30311 10.33
Ramith Rambukwella20160 8.00
Shehan Madushanka1092 9.00