Home Cricket Schools Cricket S. Thomas’ reclaim D. S. Senanayake shield

S. Thomas’ reclaim D. S. Senanayake shield

140th Battle of the Blues 2019 – Day 3


The 12-year win-less drought for S. Thomas’ College finally saw an end as they convincingly won the 140th encounter by 7 wickets today at SSC grounds.

The third and final day of the 140th chapter of Sri Lanka’s oldest cricketing encounter, the Battle of the Blues, began with S. Thomas’ College favourites to walk away winners.

S. Thomas’ on course to reclaim shield; Can Royal stop?

Royal College managed to gain a slender 10-run lead over S. Thomas’ College at close on the 2 nd day of the 140 th Battle of the Blues

Resuming the 2nd innings on 148/4 with a lead of 10 runs, Royal College scored just 14 more runs before they lost their 5th wicket. Destroyer-in-chief Kalana Perera once again provided the much needed breakthrough for the Thomians.

Last year Captain Dellon Peiris, who had been very quiet throughout the match, dented the Royalists further with two wickets in the same over. This double blow left Pasindu Sooriyabandara alone with number 10 Lahiru Madushanka.

Sooriyabandara coming in to bat lower in the order due to an injury he sustained during the 1st day’s play was the hero for Royal just as he was in 2016. He battled valiantly with a strapped shoulder to save his team from defeat.

The classy right-handed Sri Lanka U19 cap, batted elegantly for 160 deliveries accumulating 67 valuable runs keeping Royal in contention. He was well supported by Madushanka as the duo added 88 runs for the 9th wicket. The daunting stand for the Thomians eventually was broken by part-time seamer Yohan Perera. It was Sooriyabandara who played at a very wide delivery and was dismissed. Gishan Balasuriya was removed by Yohan in his very first ball to wrap up the Royal 2nd innings for 259.

Photos: Royal College vs S. Thomas’ College – 140th Battle of the Blues | Day 3

ThePapare.com | Dinushki Ranasinghe| 09/03/2019 | Editing and re-using images without permission of ThePapare.com

Thomas’ chasing a target of 122 in 37 overs cruised to victory in 20. Sithara Hapuhinna and Shalin de Mel came out all guns blazing determined to be aggressive. The Thomians felt some jitters when Captain Hapuhinna was dismissed for 34 runs in 30 balls, but Shalin De Mel took on the mantle majestically and led the remainder of the Thomian run-chase. He took his team over the line with a boundary over mid-wicket remaining unbeaten on 67.

The awards were a clean sweep by the Thomians.

Man of the Match – Kalana Perera

Best Batsman – Umayanga Suwaris

Best Bowler – Kalana Perera

Best Fielder – Shalin De Mel   


S. Thomas’ College
296/10 (78.5) & 124/3 (20)
Royal College
158/10 (48.3) & 259/10 (108.2)
Isiwara Dissanayake b Kalana Perera04000.00
Kamil Mishara c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando36876041.38
Ahan Sanchitha lbw b Kalana Perera15272055.56
Pasindu Sooriyabandara c Shalin De Mel b Kalana Perera250040.00
Kavindu Madarasinghe c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando11272040.74
Bagya Dissanayake c Dellon Peiris b Kalana Perera12202060.00
Tithira Weerasinghe lbw b Kalana Perera03000.00
Kavindu Pathirathne lbw b Kalana Perera35617057.38
Kaushan Kulasooriya c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando28475059.57
Lahiru Madushanka not out671085.71
Gishan Balasuriya c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando06000.00
Extras13 (b 4 , lb 4 , nb 4, w 1)
Total158/10 (48.3 Overs, RR: 3.26)
Kalana Perera1445463.86
Shalin De Mel301204.00
Kishan Munasinghe612103.50
Yohan Perera10202.00
Shannon Fernando15.382741.76
Dellon Peiris511803.60
Dilmin Rathnayake411604.00
Sithara Hapuinna c Kaushan Kulasooriya b K Mishara141330107.69
Shalin De Mel lbw b Kavindu Pathirathna211850116.67
Ryan Fernando c & b Kamil Mishara60669190.91
Yohan Perera c Kavindu Madarasinghe b Gishan Balasuriya49908054.44
Kishan Munasinghe b Kamil Mishara8181044.44
Dellon Peiris b Gishan Balasuriya4160025.00
Ravindu De Silva b Lahiru Madushanka223008.70
Dilmin Rathnayake c Kavindu Madarasinghe b Kavindu Pathirathne3290010.34
Umayanga Suwaris run out621099056.88
Kalana Perera c Kaushan Kulasooriya b Kavindu Pathirathne625991105.08
Shannon Fernando not out5320015.62
Extras6 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 2, w 4)
Total296/10 (78.5 Overs, RR: 3.75)
Kavindu Pathirathne1618335.19
Lahiru Madushanka913714.11
Kamil Mishara1957033.68
Gishan Balasuriya2396522.83
Kaushan Kulasooriya10.522602.48
Tithira Weerasinghe1014014.00
Isiwara Dissanayake b Shalin De Mel20772025.97
Kamil Mishara c Shalin De Mel b Kalana Perera34586058.62
Kavindu Madarasinghe c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando25505050.00
Ahan Sanchitha c Sithara Hapuhinna b Kalana Perera26503052.00
Bagya Dissanayake c & b Dellon Peiris21962021.88
Kavindu Pathirathne c Dellon Peiris b Kalana Perera24543044.44
Pasindu Sooriyabandara c Dellon Peiris b Yohan Perera671609041.88
Tithira Weerasinghe c & b Dellon Peiris03000.00
Kaushan Kulasooriya c Ryan Fernando b Kishan Munasinghe14373037.84
Lahiru Madushanka not out11641017.19
Gishan Balasuriya b Yohan Perera01000.00
Extras17 (b 6 , lb 4 , nb 6, w 1)
Total259/10 (108.2 Overs, RR: 2.39)
Kalana Perera30610233.40
Shannon Fernando23113511.52
Dellon Peiris2365322.30
Kishan Munasinghe961411.56
Dilmin Rathnayake521603.20
Shalin De Mel1151211.09
Yohan Perera5.201522.88
Umayanga Suwaris21201.00

Sithara Hapuhinna c Bagya Dissanayake b Kamil Mishara343050113.33
Shalin De Mel not out6755101121.82
Ryan Fernando st Kavindu Madarasinghe b Gishan Balasuriya390033.33
Yohan Perera b Lahiru Madushanka2170011.76
Ravindu De Silva not out13910144.44
Extras5 (b 4 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 0)
Total124/3 (20 Overs, RR: 6.2)
Kavindu Pathirathne403909.75
Kamil Mishara402215.50
Kaushan Kulasooriya201608.00
Lahiru Madushanka501913.80
Gishan Balasuriya512314.60