Skip to main content
Mahanama College retain Aravinda De Silva Challenge Trophy

Mahanama College retain Aravinda De Silva Challenge Trophy

Sharmeegan Sridheran

Mahanama College retained the Aravinda De Silva Challenge Trophy for the fourth consecutive year, beating D. S Senanayake College by 7 wickets in their 13th Battle of the Golds limited-overs cricket encounter on Saturday at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium. 

After winning the toss, D.S. Senanayake College decided to bat first. The wicket was an absolute beauty for batting, a conventional Khettarama flat deck. The two openers of D.S. Senanayake struggled early on in the innings. The right-arm off spinner, Lahiru Vithana struck in his very first over as he found the outside edge of DS opener Abishek Liyanarachchi to send him back without scoring.

Read : Battle of the Golds ends in a draw

Things were slow for D.S. Senanayake College as Amitha Dabare and Zenol Jayasena found it difficult to put away the Mahanama bowlers. That’s when Amitha Dabare tried to break out of the jail by going over the top of mid-on against the Mahanama skipper and failed.

Three more wickets fell within the next 42 runs as Zenol Jayasena, Teron Baskeran and Pasindu Adithya went without making an impact.

The Sri Lanka youth cap, 1000-run-maker, Muditha Lakshan proved his class with a stellar knock of 81 runs to steady the ship somewhat for D.S. Senanayake College. They only had 50 runs on board at the end of the first 20 overs but Muditha helped D.S. Senanayake College get to the 200-run mark.

Read More : An evenly poised battle to be staged at DS-Mahanama

Chamath Yatawara gave him a good hand but perished running a quick single too casually. He made a valuable 29 runs. Sandaru Wickramathilaka and Maneendra Jayathilaka chipped in with 2 cameos to take D.S. Senanayake College to a competitive 215 runs.

The dead track hinted that there wouldn’t be any superstars with the ball in the game. Yet, the Mahanamians kept it extremely tight and tidy with the ball. Pavan Rathnayake and Pawantha Weerasinghe both picked up 2 wickets each.

Chasing 215 runs for glory, Bishan Mendis and Vinuka Rubasinghe took guard to open the batting for Mahanama. Amitha Dabare of D.S. Senanayake found the timber against Bishan in the second over to leave Mahanama in a spot of bother. Rubasinghe put on a steady 55-run partnership with the number 3, Pawantha Weerasinghe, before Rubasinghe was struck in front by Methushan Kumara. Another 32-run partnership between Pawantha Weerasinghe and Pavan Rathnayake meant that Mahanama stayed in the game. Weerasinghe departed after an enterprising 59 runs.

Photos: D.S. Senanayake College vs Mahanama College – 13th One Day Encounter

Then Rathnayake and Sonal Gamage came together to frustrate D.S. Senanayake College through the rest of the day with cheeky singles, tap-and-runs, sweeps, and good footwork. The pair scored unbeaten half-centuries.

Rathnayake was flawless with his elegant strokeplay and impeccable timing. He went on to make 80 runs in 113 balls with 6 boundaries.

Gamage played the anchor role supporting Rathnayake while teasing the bowlers with his spontaneous footwork. The left-hander scored a solid 51 to see his team home.


Special awards
  • Man of the Match - Pavan Rathnayake
  • Best Batsman - Muditha Lakshan
  • Best Bowler - Pawantha Weerasinghe
  • Best Fielder - Pathum Boteju
Cricket Schools Cricket
Layout Content
Single Image Layout


We are professional and reliable provider since we offer customers the most powerful and beautiful themes. Besides, we always catch the latest technology and adapt to follow world’s new trends to deliver the best themes to the market.