Heavyweights Visakha Vidyalaya walk into the 13th edition of the annual M.N.Edissuriya Water polo encounter as favorites to retain the trophy.

Ladies had their last taste of success during the reign of Enakshi Wickramanayaka in 2010 and have since failed to conquer the Visakians who have dominated to complete a five-peat.

With a staggering 8-3 overall tally up against their name, the Visakian challenge this year paints an ominous picture for the ladies from flower road.

Abundance of experience

The Visakians come into the encounter with a ton of experience in their ranks, despite losing the likes of Samaakhya Gajanayake, Maneka Dedigama and Nuwanthi Mannapperuma from their victorious squad from the previous year.

Skippered by Nadishka Senanayake, they have the services of seven Sri Lanka representatives from the recently concluded South Asian Aquatics Championship. With five seniors from the previous year’s triumphant outfit along with the likes of Sri Lanka National cap Sharleen Peiris at their disposal. So it’s fair to say that Visaka are spoilt for choice.

Watch Live below

Ladies College v Visakha College – 13th Annual Water polo Encounter

Live from Sugathadasa Indoor Swimming pool complex on 28th of October 3.30 pm onwards.

A prosperous history 

Visaka have been a conquering force in Water Polo, competing at the highest level in Sri Lanka with ample success. The golden feathers of their prestigious history are undoubtedly the two unbeaten seasons of 2012 and 2013 under the leadership of Limashi Kosgodage and Tusari Ekanaya respectively.

In the present year they’ve had a decent run. This year’s Ellawala league saw them placed 2nd, finishing only behind the Navy ladies team. Noteworthy is that against Ladies College they managed an evenly fought stalemate.

Nevertheless, the girl’s in blue will be confident of making history considering the fabric of their outstanding setup.


Nadishka Senanayake © (Bar), Bulani Perera (Wing), Kavee Perera (Goalkeeper), Sayuri Dharmapriya (Bar), Nuravi Assalarachchi (Wing), Venushka Senanayake (Wing), Damithri Munasinghe (Bar), Sharleen Peiris (Prop), Tusari Ekanayake (Center), Janisha Katuwapitiya (Wing), Asini Kariyawasam (Wing), Chethya Liyanage (Goalkeeper), Januli Dezoysa (Wing)